Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Developer
My Device: Z10, Z30
Accepted Solution

Very, Very Basic Question about QML....

I'm new to BB10 development and I've been reading over the provided tutorials and reference materials. As the title of my post suggests, I have a very basic question about QML that may have a not so basic answer:

Just what exaclty can QML be used for? The literature in the documentation seems to suggest in places that QML is used for scripting UI elements, while the actual work behind the scenes is done by code written in C++. Other documentation seems to hint that an app can be written in QML, although the only examples I've seen of this are apps that really only showcase UI elements.

I suppose a shorter question would be: can I write a useful app entirely in QML without ever touching C/C++?

On a related note, when someone says they have written the app in "cascades," what are they refering to? Is Cascades the development suite? Is it refering to using QML/C++/QT?

Developer
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Very, Very Basic Question about QML....

You can think of Cascades as an extension to Qt which allows a more sophisticated UI design specifically for BB10 phones.

QML can be thought of, at it's simplest, as a way of describing how you want to place controls on the screen.

Where it gets complicated is the ability to use JavaScript within the QML file itself.

So yes it is possible to write entirely competant apps entirely in QML/JavaScript and not write any C++.

A good place to start is the free to download development book...

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Social-Lounge/Free-BlackBerry-10-Development-eBook/td-p/28358...

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy: