Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Developer
Slosh
My Device: Q5

Web Service

Hello everyone,

I am a new developer. :Clap:

Before I begin sorry for the large number of questions. :Oops:
Well I did not put these questions only after many attempts to find Answers, But all my attempts failed. :No:

Q1: What is the best and fastest Xml or Json in blackberry?

Q2: How to make automatic update of the data when the application runs?

Q3: How to safe data in device then displayed again when run the application? ( Don't download the data again from Service ).

Q4: How to create pull to refresh data?

I have seen many examples, and it was the best application weatherguesser.
But use c ++

Please use plain text.
Developer
Zmey
My Device: PlayBook, Z10, DAC

Re: Web Service

[ Edited ]

Hi! Welcome to the forums. Please create one thread per question, it will be easier to discuss them or search for them  later.

1)

For parsing XML and JSON there are XmlDataAccess and JsonDataAccess classes. If their functionality is sufficient, I'd try using them first. Performance is not critical unless you're working with really large data arrays. There are also classes for parsing XML in Qt (QXmlStreamReader etc), but I suggest trying BB ones first.

There is also higher level DataSource class which can load JSON or XML as well, even from remote source. It can be used from QML. It uses XmlDataAccess & JsonDataAccess internally.

2) For QML, there's DataSource class. After loading and parsing the data, populate the model. This page has some sample code:

http://developer.blackberry.com/native/reference/cascades/bb__data__datasource.html?f=datasource

Optionally, cache the data in a local database.

In C++ QNetworkAccessManager + QNetworkRequest classes can be used.