Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Developer
bigb2009
My Device: Not Specified

Why is this so difficult?

So here I am, day 2, and still have yet to get much of anything to work.  I think I am seeing now why development on this platform is so slow, as the only viable solution to developing anything has to be done through Air. 

I am a C/C++ developer by trade, so this should be pretty easy, but for some reason RIm made this so hard.  I installed the NDK only to realize that there are no UI components available, so you either have to roll your own, or use Qt.  (no problem I think to myself). 

I decide to fire up the "Gestures" example, just to see how things work, and see whats going to be involved in rolling my own UI.  It doesn't work in the simulator(not sure about the actual playbook).  So I go off and try to find another way to do it... enter Qt. 

I go off and install the Qt SDK from git, and try to build the simple hello world app, it fails.  After hunting and hunting I find that I need to patch 3 files in order to get things to work on the sim(which I did, and it did work). 

No problem there, though it shouldn't be this hard.  I know that we've been hearing about Cascades for a loooong time now, but really?  Release a product to the general public when there is no easy way for a developer to actually develop for it, unless your an actionscript/air guy?  Seriously? 

Now don't get me wrong, I love my Playbook, as well as my 9900, and I have developed on the 6.X OS BB's before, but this is a joke.  They made a big deal out of releasing the NDK, but there is almost nothing you can do with it from an actual developers standpoint.  The tablet has a beautiful screen, why would'nt something be included in the NDK where you could atleast display buttons, tabs, etc..