Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Member
vicson88
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-09-2012
My Device: Playbook

You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

 

Mac OSX or Windows, Im always getting this error. I am a new developer and need help. 

I use: Build Configuration - Set Active - Debug Simulator

 

I remember I had it working a while back on my Mac, so I have no idea where I am going wrong!

Thanks in Advanced.

 

 

Developer
oliver_kranz
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎09-18-2009
My Device: Z10

Re: You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

A solution would be to test on the device and not on the simulator. But this would only be a workaround for the problem.

 

I remember having the same isue when porting a project to the newest SDK.

New Developer
Minishlink
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
My Device: PlayBook

Re: You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

Setting active the targer isn't sufficient enough. You have to change the "run target" also. Because when you use the "Run" icon, it currently runs the Device-* run configutation. So to solve your problem, you have to change your Run configuration and change the target from Device-* to Simulator-Debug.
Hope this helps. :smileyhappy:
-----------------------------
See my PlayBook apps and my website.
Twitter : @Minishlink
New Member
roma3535
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

Tnk :smileyhappy:

Visitor
phanlong10119
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-23-2013
My Device: Simulator

Re: You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

I change to the simulator-debug but that couldn't run. How can i do :smileysad: Please help me !! Thanks.
New Developer
nelson0511
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
My Device: devloper

Re: You are attempting to run an application built for the device on the simulator. Please rebuild your application for the simulator.

under the "file" folder i found an option that said "rebuild" and i clicked that and it worked