Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
developerUK
My Device: 9810
My Carrier: o2

app draining battery after exit

I have a problem where if i run my app on the dev alpha device and then exit the app the battery is draining after a couple of hours and the device is warm as if it is doing work but when i look at target navigator view i see that the process for my app is not there (as a running process) after I exit.

The app involves socket connections and some qt controls.

Is it possible I maybe doing something incorrect to cause the battery to drain - what should I be looking out for? I am new to native development coming from java and I obviously dont want complaints from users.

Thanks for any advice you can offer me.

Please use plain text.
Developer
lewellyn
My Device: PlayBook, Bold 9650, Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: app draining battery after exit

If your app is not running, it is unlikely to be at fault.

Do you see this with samples from Github, or just your own app? If it is just your own app, you should try to create a minimal example which causes the behavior and file it on the developer issue tracker. It would not be a terrible idea to link the issue in this thread, if you file one. :smileyhappy:

Is there a helpful or useful post in this thread? Click the thumbs up on it so that other people can find it more easily!
Like this post too! :smileyvery-happy:
Please use plain text.
Contributor
developerUK

I will look more into it and see if it is worth doing as you say with issue tracker. 

Unfortunatley it does seem to happen only when one of my/any apps has been accessed and then closed. 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
developerUK