Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,595
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1

Hi,
I used some weeks the 10.1 Beta 1 IDE with SDK 10.0.9
this works great without any problems and I really like the better behaviour of QML Editor

then I installed 10.1 Betas 2 IDE same way as before:
* first uninstalled old IDE then installed the new
now I couldn't get the 10.0 SDKs from "update NDK"

from Mark Sohm then I learned, that there's a change HowTo deal with Betas:
now 10.1 Beta IDE should not be used to develop for 10.0 SDK's and that's the reason there's not selection of SDKs from 10.1 Beta 2
Mark also told me that I can install both IDE's side-by-side: GOLD and BETA

OK, I re-installed the GOLD IDE with all the SDKs into a new directory
on OSX now I'm having
applications/bbndk (contains 10.2 BETA IDE with target SDK 10.1.0.807)
applications/bbndk_gold (contains 10.0 Gold IDE with target SDK 10.0.9.1673)
then I added to GOLD IDE the other SDKs: 10.0.9.2372, 10.0.10.261, 10.0.10.263, 10.0.10.672, 10.0.10.684, 10.0.10.690, 10.0.10.738

some questions:
1. installing GOLD and BETA IDEs in 2 different folders is ok ?
2. if debugging on a Device I select the correct SDK (my LE is still on 10.0.9.2318, or a DevAlpha with 10.0.10.263)

3. now the difficult part:
if exporting a release for BB World:
to make the app run on all different devices I have to select the lowest 10.0 SDK ? which means 10.0.9.1673
or are these SDKs only important for debugging on device ?
so it doesn't matter, which SDK is selected - if using the GOLD IDE to EXPORT, the app automatically runs on all 10.0 devices ?
or do I have to set advanced settings in BAR-descriptor.xml to one of the 10.0 SDKs ?

4. if uploading a BAR to BB World, there are two different targets for 10.0
10.0.0
10.0.10
Why that ? I think 10.0 API is always the same. Why different in BB World ?

5. curious: if two IDE's are installed side-by-side as recommended now, each IDE 'sees' all SDK's from both IDE's
so inside the 10.1 Beta 2 IDE I can now switch between all 10.0.x SDKs and 10.1.0.807
AND inside the Gold 10.0 IDE I also can see the 10.1.0.807 SDK from Beta 2 IDE
Is this ok ?

6. Development for 10.0 and 10.1 - best practices
While using the 10.1 Betas with 10.0 Projects I noticed that some .settings were different (because of new features from QML Editor)
and I ran into big trouble with this project now under GOLD 10.0. Didn't get it exported. Had to create new project on GOLD and import all src, assets etc.
Does this mean:
a) never mix 10.0 and 10.1 IDE's on the same project ?
b) can workspaces be used from different IDE's or must I always use another one specific created under that IDE ?
If a) and b) will be yes, then I think the only way to go here is to use different branches in Git

7. Deployment for 10.0 and 10.1
a) If I'm not using any specific 10.1 things and tested the 10.0 APP running on 10.1 Device or Simulator, then I can upload to BB World for both
b) If using new API I have to use 10.1 IDE plus 10.1 SDK selected ? And I have to set Advanced Settings for Required Platform set to one of the 10.1SDKs

Remark:
I'm not happy with the solution to use different installed IDEs for GOLD and BETA. Makes it more complicated as it is already. Using Eclipse for Android I can always use the newest IDE including Betas and each project knows the Minimum Target SDK and Maximum Target SDK

 

sorry for so many questions, but this is really important for us developers to know exactly HowTo solve these things. I spent some hours to make my projects run again under GOLD

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,864
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1

Nice list of questions.  :smileyhappy:  Let me get to them...

 

  1. Yes, they must be installed in 2 different folders.
  2. Correct, and there are simulators available for both.
  3. The rules here are similar to what we had on our Java devices.  Applications built it a lower version of the SDK can run on BlackBerry Smartphones with an equal or higher OS version.  So you can build in 10.0.10.x and deploy on both 10.0.10.x and 10.1.x.x.  The final digit (refers to build number) is not that important, so you don't need to worry much about compatibility there.  That being said, you could build an application in a 10.1 SDK and run it on a 10.0.10 OS if the application doesn't use any new API or feature that was introduces in 10.1.  In most cases this will run just fine, but isn't gauranteed to work.  So if you're going to release one BAR file like this, make sure you fully test all features of your application.
  4. I believe 10.0.0 was first added to allow people to upload applications when the only hardware was the BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha.  Some of these are now also targetting the BlackBerry Z10, so we can't remove that category.
  5. Yes, that's the way it works.  But we don't recommend using beta SDKs in the gold IDE, and vice versa.
  6. Yes, there are incompatibilities, which is why we've separated the two SDKs.  The cleanest approach would be to create a new project and import your existing code files.
  7. a - Correct.  b - Also correct.

 

Thanks for the feedback.  I'll pass this along to our product teams.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,595
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1

Mark,

thanks for your detailed answers

 


MSohm wrote:

Nice list of questions.  :smileyhappy:  Let me get to them...

 

  1. Yes, they must be installed in 2 different folders.
  2. Correct, and there are simulators available for both.
  3. The rules here are similar to what we had on our Java devices.  Applications built it a lower version of the SDK can run on BlackBerry Smartphones with an equal or higher OS version.  So you can build in 10.0.10.x and deploy on both 10.0.10.x and 10.1.x.x.  The final digit (refers to build number) is not that important, so you don't need to worry much about compatibility there.  That being said, you could build an application in a 10.1 SDK and run it on a 10.0.10 OS if the application doesn't use any new API or feature that was introduces in 10.1.  In most cases this will run just fine, but isn't gauranteed to work.  So if you're going to release one BAR file like this, make sure you fully test all features of your application.
  4. I believe 10.0.0 was first added to allow people to upload applications when the only hardware was the BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha.  Some of these are now also targetting the BlackBerry Z10, so we can't remove that category.
  5. Yes, that's the way it works.  But we don't recommend using beta SDKs in the gold IDE, and vice versa.
  6. Yes, there are incompatibilities, which is why we've separated the two SDKs.  The cleanest approach would be to create a new project and import your existing code files.
  7. a - Correct.  b - Also correct.

 

Thanks for the feedback.  I'll pass this along to our product teams.


4. But to get Z10 like my LE with 10.0.9.x I have to select 10.0.0 to target them all

6.There will be more in the future 10.0, 10.1, 10.2, ...

to make this manageable in real world projects I'll go the Git-Branching way (will blog about this soon).

 

7. to verify:

if in 10.0 IDE (GOLD) then it doesn't matter which of the 10.0 SDK's I have selected, its good to EXPORT a 10.0 product

and if in 10.1 IDE (BETA) if one of the 10.0 SDK's is selected, it will EXPORT a 10.0 product and if one of the 10.1 SDK'S is selected it will EXPORT a 10.1 product ?

If in advanced settings required SDK is set, then EXPORT will only work if a SDK >= required is selected ?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
SpacemanSpiff
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: Playbook

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1

So i can use 10.0.10.672 as given in https://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/download/releasenotes/ to run on 10.0.9 / 10.0.10 / 10.1 devices ? I want to be sure before creating the release.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,864
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1

There were no new APIs added between 10.0.9 and 10.0.10, so they should be compatible.

 

ekke, if you can reproduce the incompatible project issue can you submit a sample to Issue Tracker?  I checked with development on this and they said 10.1 projects should be compatible with 10.0.

 

We don't recommend building a release version in a beta NDK, even if you select a gold SDK version.  Use gold versions of both for your release builds.  Right now each installed NDK will pick up all installed SDKs, but this is likely to be split up in the future.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,595
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1


MSohm wrote:

ekke, if you can reproduce the incompatible project issue can you submit a sample to Issue Tracker?  I checked with development on this and they said 10.1 projects should be compatible with 10.0.



not so easy

 

the project works fine on 10.1 Beta, but some problems occured with some images not load if the app was running in 10.1 Simulator and I also noticed this on some devices running internal 10.1 OS versions on devices from BlackBerry devs I met at MobileTechCon this week.

there's another thread on this

 

then I tried to use this project on GOLD. at first looks good, could run in debugmode on device,

but then tried to export a release. got always errors that I have to increment the version number, but this doesn't help.

was not able to build this project

 

so I created Project new with GOLD and copied all the stuff into this project without .settings

now all deploys perfect.

then I tried this project in 10.1 Simulator and this time the Images are all there.

also exporting a release works again and I could upload to BlackBerry world

so there seems to be a difference between building the project on 10.1 and 10.0

I have not used any of the new APIs

 

now I'm happy to make it work again and I'm not able to make it reproducable

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,864
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1

Do you recall what the error was when you tried to export the project?  Was similar to "code signing request failed because this version was previously signed"?  And you say incrementing the version and trying to export again didn't have any affect?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,595
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: confused by SDK's IDE's 10.0 vs 10.1


MSohm wrote:

Do you recall what the error was when you tried to export the project?  Was similar to "code signing request failed because this version was previously signed"?  And you say incrementing the version and trying to export again didn't have any affect?


yes and yes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner