Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
tanphat1412
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
My Device: BlackBerry
My Carrier: Mobifone

fontSizeValue is not working in SDK Beta 4

In SKD beta 3, it works ok, but after I update my SDK, all the font size came back to normal.

Anyone has the same issue like me?

Please use plain text.
Developer
kylefowler
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: fontSizeValue is not working in SDK Beta 4

did you set fontSize to FontSize.PointValue along side of fontSizeValue?
Like all of my posts
Please use plain text.
New Developer
Jack00513
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
My Device: 9000
My Carrier: Simulator

Re: fontSizeValue is not working in SDK Beta 4

SDK Beta 4 work ok but simulator (dev alpha) beta 4 not running

Please use plain text.
Developer
bobdodd
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎10-31-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: -

Re: fontSizeValue is not working in SDK Beta 4

Hi Kyle,

 

It was the solution for me too, thanks :smileyhappy:

 

What I don't understand is why behaviour was changed with two months to launch. I, and I'm sure everyone else developing apps, have better things to do than be making pointless changes to code.

 

It wouldn't be so bad if it was a sensible requirement, but it's not. The app developer has already indicated they want point size by calling the function to set the point size; requiring a second supplementary function call is just building in the chance of bugs in the code. The code that sets point size should be setting the font size enum, not the application programmer.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
Ebscer
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: fontSizeValue is not working in SDK Beta 4

I am pretty sure that setting FontSize.PointValue was also required in Beta3


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Please use plain text.
Developer
bobdodd
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎10-31-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: -

Re: fontSizeValue is not working in SDK Beta 4

It may have been required, but it worked perfectly well without it  :smileyvery-happy:

 

But seriously, it this really was required then it was always an idiotic implementation:

 

Two function calls to needed set the point size of a text string?

 

The possibility of conflicting values between them?

 

 

Please use plain text.