Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2
Accepted Solution

how to debug qml/javascript?

is there a way to set breakpoints in qml/javascript and debug the code?

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.
Developer
rashm2k
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: none

Re: how to debug qml/javascript?

I don't think it works too well, there is a QML debugging option in Qt Creator but I could never seem to get it to work.

 

console.log is your friend.

 

Also since qml files are stored un-compiled you can edit the files directly and restart your app for a a quicker dev cycle.

Please use plain text.
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2

Re: how to debug qml/javascript?


 

Also since qml files are stored un-compiled you can edit the files directly and restart your app for a a quicker dev cycle.


how to do this exactly?

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.
Developer
rashm2k
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: none

Re: how to debug qml/javascript?

Normally I can SSH to my Nokia N9 if enable developer mode.

 

You should aslo be able to do this on the playbook:

 

http://openbbnews.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/devuser-and-1000/

 

And then edit files using vi (assuming QNX has vi?).

 

I've still got to try this with my playbook, but I'll do that when I start porting over to BB 10 soon.

Please use plain text.
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2

Re: how to debug qml/javascript?

[ Edited ]

i need to test it with my devAlpha, this would save a lot of time

 

its working :smileyhappy:

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
turitu
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
My Device: Z10, Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telenor

Re: how to debug qml/javascript?

There is a section in the documentation that explains how to enable JavaScript debugging, which will allow you to set breakpoints in your QML/JS code. https://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/documentation/getting_started/tools/debugging.html

 

Please use plain text.