Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Robdob
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Accepted Solution

is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

over the last couple of days I've noticed that more often then not

 

that a call within my code to

 

QGeoCoordinate coord(m_latitude, m_longitude);

 

reply = m_searchManager->reverseGeocode( coord );

 

connect(reply,SIGNAL(finished()),this,SLOT(readReverseGeocode()));

connect(reply,SIGNAL(error(QGeoSearchReply::Error, QString)),this,SLOT(reverseGeocodeError(QGeoSearchReply::Error, QString))); 

 

is returning the following error

 

"The input to or response from the service provider was in an unrecognizable format."

 

from within my:

 

void Geo::reverseGeocodeError(QGeoSearchReply::Error error, QStringerrorString){

 qDebug() << "( Geo::reverseGeocodeError ) "<<errorString;

 .....

delete reply;

}

 

As a test I called the same method several times using the same coordinates, sometimes it would work correctly sometimes not, I'm pretty sure this problem only started occuring several days ago so I'm thinking/hoping its a quirk that will be ironed out on the service side..

 

Does anyone know if something is going on and/or if this will be fixed soon.  I don't think its anything I'm doing wrong in my code, but these days who knows..:Wacko:

 

thanks,



GeoYeo - Free Local classifieds - Built for Blackberry 10, if you like it please Rate It and Share it!
Please use plain text.
Developer
Robdob
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

Can someone please give me some insight here,  this is frsutrating , this didn't happen before,  I would had to have to recusively call this until it give me the answer it should give me first time around as it used to several days ago,  Something appears to be going flakey with the reverse geo service.  any insight would be greatly appeciated..

 

thanks,



GeoYeo - Free Local classifieds - Built for Blackberry 10, if you like it please Rate It and Share it!
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 15,558
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

I have escalated the issue internally
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Robdob
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

[ Edited ]

thank you,  its very much appreciated.

 

Out of interested once its been escalated, does that mean that someone will look at it within the next, day, week, month.  I'm just trying to gage if I should be looking at peraps implememting another reversegeo service until this one gets resolved.

 

Thanks,



GeoYeo - Free Local classifieds - Built for Blackberry 10, if you like it please Rate It and Share it!
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
jehrismann
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
My Carrier: Telus

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

Please use plain text.
Developer
superdirt
Posts: 535
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

Reverse geolocation is definitely having problems right now.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Robdob
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );


superdirt wrote:

Reverse geolocation is definitely having problems right now.


I'm glad you concur,  do you know when you think it will be fixed?  its sort of rediculous if I need to incorporate either a google or bing server in order to accomplish stable reversegeo. 

thanks



GeoYeo - Free Local classifieds - Built for Blackberry 10, if you like it please Rate It and Share it!
Please use plain text.
Developer
Robdob
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

[ Edited ]

ReverseGeo service seems to be more stable now, I wonder if they did something on their service end to fix it up.. Or if it is just coincidence.

 



GeoYeo - Free Local classifieds - Built for Blackberry 10, if you like it please Rate It and Share it!
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,064
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Carrier: Bell

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

There were issues with our infrastructure for reverse goecoding.  It was resolved yesterday and should continue to be stable.  We apologize for the issues.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
Robdob
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: is there something up with QGeoSearchManager::reverseGeocode( coord );

[ Edited ]

Wow!!!, quick resolution

 

Perfect,  thank you so much for looking into it..:Rockon:

 

 



GeoYeo - Free Local classifieds - Built for Blackberry 10, if you like it please Rate It and Share it!
Please use plain text.