Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
My Device: blackberry playbook
My Carrier: none

playbook development path??

HI-  i'm an experienced SW developer but new at blackberry.   i downloaded all the native/cascades tools & libraries for BB10.   i have a blackberry playbook to develop on.   so i go through all the setup steps, get a debug token loaded onto my device, and find my sample app won't deploy to the playbook because it is running OS version 2.X and BB10 is of course 10.X.   all else seems to be okay. the app deploys to to the simulator and runs OK.

running the 'find new SDK' wizard returns no new SDKs, or older ones either.

looking through the developer website, i see no developer resources specific to the playbook.   i found several posts saying that BB10 will be available for the playbook sometime after the phones are released in february.   so my question of course is how to develop apps for playbook today, without waiting another two months for BB!0 for playbook to be released.  

thanks!

Developer
My Device: Torch 9800 & Playbook
My Carrier: Three

Re: playbook development path??

Hi Strgezer,

It depends on the flavor of development you prefere, here are some links to the playbook SDK's.

Native:
http://developer.blackberry.com/native/download/#playbook

Webworks:
https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/download/#playbook

Adobe Air:

https://developer.blackberry.com/air/download/#playbook

regards

Daniel - Neurocode
If my posts help, please click the Like button.

gymChronicles - helping you to keep motivated
Contributor