Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Dredvard
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers

qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

I'm modified my cascade layout and I'd like to use the qml preview to layout.  Unfortunately I have various qmlRegisteredTypes in my application requiring :

 

     import cppmodule 1.0

 

in my qml  so the import causes the error in the previewer of:

 

    module "cppmodule" not installed.

 

What is the best practice for wriiting your app so that you can actually use the qml previewing feature of mometics Cascades ?

---
If you find my post helpful please "like" it and "accept as a solution"
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,017
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

currently it seems the best practice to comment it out to use the preview.
i hope it gets fixed with the next NDK release, there were several bugs filed in jira, but all (that are public) were closed unresolved, so we'll see.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
jaiaca
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

This has been an issue with me too. If you create any custom controls to display/use in qml the preview wont work. It's a known issue but either it'll be fixed in the next release (November) I'm not sure
Jason I. Carter
Follow me @jasonicarter
Built For BlackBerry - WordsPlus & WordsPlus: Free Edition | word search has never had it so good
www.twocasualcoders.com | never casual on quality
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,017
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

i got confirmation that this issue has the highest priority, so i hope it'll be fixed in the next release.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Dredvard
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

Well I guess they didn't fix it - unless there's some additional step that I'm not aware of.

---
If you find my post helpful please "like" it and "accept as a solution"
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,017
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

i did not get any feedback on that yet, guess they are still all jetlagged from bb jam asia.

its very annoying indeed, especially as i heavily rely on custom materials.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Dredvard
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: qmlRegisterType and QML previewing?

Momentics seems to be a little more stable with this build.  I'm able to work in qml previewer for an extended period of time without it crahsing.  Still not completely stable though as I've had 2 crashes in 4 hours.

 

However, I'm stuck trashing my qml to get it to work.  And then once I get it to the form I like,  hopefully find all things I had to modify.  Let me know if your source has any suggestions.

---
If you find my post helpful please "like" it and "accept as a solution"
Please use plain text.