Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
trollixx
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C

Re: qt components for BB10

[ Edited ]

Guys, I'd be happy to take part in the developing of bb10 components too. At this time I have some basic things done in pure QML, but it's just a temporary solution for my work project.

--
Oleg Shparber
Please use plain text.
New Developer
vladest
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-16-2012
My Device: N950/E7/N808/N9/X7/BB10 Alpha

Re: qt components for BB10

I think, most of the qt components for symbian ready to go on BB10 except screen sizes etc. Afaik, the screen sizes problem is soved already, but the solution is not available, unfortunately

Qt/Symbian/Meego/BB10/Cascades developer
Please use plain text.
Developer
trollixx
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C

Re: qt components for BB10

Sorry, it seems I've misunderstood something. I'm working on components for Cascades look and feel for QtQuick. It's a little different thing so.
--
Oleg Shparber
Please use plain text.
Developer
connyhald
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: qt components for BB10

Alright, I was hoping to do some more coding over the weekend but unfortunately my DevAlpha stopped working on Friday evening :smileysad: I still hope it will power up again somehow, otherwise I have to see if RIM will exchange it for a working one...

 

Anyways, I've pushed my code changes to Gitorious so others can have a look at it as well. The branch is called "bb10" and can be found here:

https://qt.gitorious.org/~conny/qt-components/connys-qt-components

 

Changes are:

  • Initial adaptation to hi-res screen of DevAlpha
  • Initial code to support orientation changes (not really working yet)

Over all the code is still very hackish and rough but it might help others to get startet as well.

 

If you're using the default Qt libs on DevAlpha the performance will be really bad. Current Qt 4.8 (Git) contains a bug fix that inscreases performance. Still it's far from 60 FPS.

 

Have fun :smileyhappy:

-----------
http://kodira.de
BB Apps: Pattern :: Plonk
Please use plain text.
Developer
connyhald
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: qt components for BB10

Oh and something else: In your main function you probably want to do something like this, otherwise it's difficult to press buttons etc...

QApplication app(argc, argv);

// Because of the hi-res BB10 display be need a higher tolerance to mouse movements
app.setStartDragDistance(16);

 

-----------
http://kodira.de
BB Apps: Pattern :: Plonk
Please use plain text.
New Developer
vladest
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-16-2012
My Device: N950/E7/N808/N9/X7/BB10 Alpha

Re: qt components for BB10

ported my app to bb10. piece of cake :smileyhappy: thats about good news

bad news: Flickable is laaaaagggy

Qt/Symbian/Meego/BB10/Cascades developer
Please use plain text.
Developer
connyhald
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: qt components for BB10

Great news :smileyhappy:

About the lag: Did you try with recent Qt from Git? It's much less laggy compared to the default BB10 Qt.

-----------
http://kodira.de
BB Apps: Pattern :: Plonk
Please use plain text.
New Developer
vladest
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-16-2012
My Device: N950/E7/N808/N9/X7/BB10 Alpha

Re: qt components for BB10

can you pleas gimme a hint how to build and deploy the 4.8.x libs to bb10?

 

thanks

Qt/Symbian/Meego/BB10/Cascades developer
Please use plain text.
Developer
connyhald
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: qt components for BB10

Sure :smileyhappy: Here it is: http://qt-project.org/wiki/QNX

Let me know if you have specific issues.

-----------
http://kodira.de
BB Apps: Pattern :: Plonk
Please use plain text.
New Developer
vladest
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-16-2012
My Device: N950/E7/N808/N9/X7/BB10 Alpha

Re: qt components for BB10

[ Edited ]

well, building it on windows its tricky part

first of all, -qpa not supported on win: https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-20819

second, mkspec for bb10 is not visible for windows configure tool

it seems, win configuration tool doesnt supprts qnx at all

Qt/Symbian/Meego/BB10/Cascades developer
Please use plain text.