Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: None

taking screenshots

having a lot of issues with the VOL UP + VOL DOWN screenshot taking techqinue.

 

most of the time my image comes out either

1. completely black

2. partially black

3. pixelatted.

 

is there a better screenshot taking capability built into Momentics? 

 

can anyone suggest anything please?

Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: taking screenshots

@slashkyle wrote a sample on how to do this programmatically you might check that out...

 

https://github.com/slashkyle/Cascades-Samples/tree/master/CaptureThis

 

You might also try the Simulator but I'm not sure either of these will make an actual difference to the result you get.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
New Developer
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: None

Re: taking screenshots

thanks. right now i'm building videos via hdmi and then i do a frame dump. i could easily hook this code though into a take screenshot button.

 

really appreciate it.

Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: taking screenshots

You're welcome.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
New Developer
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: None

Re: taking screenshots

jsut tried this out. same issue. is this a bug in the OS?

Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: taking screenshots

Post your screenshot so we can take a look.

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: taking screenshots

Do something familiar and I will post the same and we can compare.

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
New Developer
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: None

Re: taking screenshots

can't max size is 1meg. but i uploaded it here

 

http://www.fileswap.com/dl/rTjYhYwURr/

 

completely blank.

Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: taking screenshots

LOL, it took me 10 minutes to download a black image.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: taking screenshots

What device are you on and what version?


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.