Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Other BlackBerry® Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
wizardrpg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: BB

BB Dev Alpha voice commands

Press and hold the mute button. The BB Dev Alpha says: "Please say a command after the beep".

Things you can say:

Open browser
BB says: "What site do you want to go to?"
blackberry.com
Browser opens on that site

Search for <something>
BB says: "Updating information for <something>"
Various search results appear: apps, Bing, Help, YouTube, App World, Music, Wikipedia

Go to <site>
BB says: "Browsing to <site>"
Browser opens on that site

Go to google.com
BB says: "What would you like to find?"
Paris
BB says: "Performing Google Search for Paris"
Browser opens on Google, but no search is performed yet

What is the weather?
BB says: it is currently 20 degrees and partly sunny

What is the time?
BB says: it's 2:10pm

Find directions to Paris
BB says: "Updating information for Paris"
Bing maps appears centered on Seattle but no results are found.
Similar for things like "Where is the nearest Starbucks"

Call Maria
BB says: "I couldn't find Maria, please say the contacts name again"
...probably due to missing PIM apps, same with commands like "Send text message".

Dial <number>
BB says: "Do you want to call <number>?
Yes
BB says: I am calling <number>
(no SIM, can't test)

Make an appointment with Jon for tomorrow at 2pm
BB says: OK, here is your appointment with Jon on Saturday, July 21st at 2pm. Would you like to schedule it?
Yes
BB says: Scheduling your appointment. I've saved it in your calendar.

Move my 2pm meeting tomorrow to 4pm
BB says: "Here is your reminder. Shall I save it?"
Yes
Seems to incorrectly create a new reminder from 2pm to 4pm

Cancel my 2pm meeting tomorrow
BB just pings

Remember to call Jack
When would you like me to remind you to call Jack?
At 5 p.m.
Here is your reminder <blablabla> Would you like me to save it?

Play <something>
Please specify the playlist, album, artist, genre or title


Things it doesn't do (yet), or does incorrectly:
What is the time on Tokio?
What is the weather in Barcelona?
What is 3 times 33?
How much is 10 dollars in euro's?
Close browser / close AIR browser

Things it doesn't understand usually result in: "Do you want to search the web for ..."

Found any more? Post below!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
varun_kumar
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Dev Alpha voice commands

I have recived BB 10 alpha device from Delhi tour..

 

But in my device while holding mute button voice cammand is not  launches

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
wizardrpg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: BB

Re: BB Dev Alpha voice commands

Try updating your os. You can download DM 7.1 from beta zone and upgrade your OS
Please use plain text.
Developer
mzex
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10LE, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Telenor, Mobitel

Re: BB Dev Alpha voice commands

Did anyone manage to play something via "Play" command? I guess we need native music player app, or we can use something else?

Please use plain text.
Developer
positive6900
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
My Device: bb10 dev alpha
My Carrier: airtel

Re: BB Dev Alpha voice commands

great:smileyhappy:

i 'm enjoying the voice service.:smileyhappy::smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
Developer
positive6900
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
My Device: bb10 dev alpha
My Carrier: airtel

Re: BB Dev Alpha voice commands

hi

to use voice command yo need to first update your software version ,by connecting your blackberry to pc and then opening blackberry desktop sofware . 

it will ask for an available update,then press update and it will update and reboat.after that you will be able to have this feature.

 

thankyou

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
arrrry
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
My Device: 9780 playbook bb10
My Carrier: XL Axiata

Re: BB Dev Alpha voice commands

is it just me or what ?

voice command only enable when wifi is on
Please use plain text.