Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Other BlackBerry® Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
MrVideo
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

When set to vibrate+tone, all the 8830 will do is vibrate.  Even when going through the settings and configuring them, when vibrate+tone is highlighted, only vibrate works.

 

Is this a bug? 

Regular Contributor
bogomip
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
My Device: 8707g

Re: Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

Same happens on 8707g.

Don't know what purpose it serves and haven't seen any answers related to it.

 

Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

I used pearl, 8700g and 6230 but never encountered such issue. I'll check with 8830 and will come back later.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor
lloydfernando
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

when configuring for vibrate+tone

- check volume in the same config. settings screen

 

- even if u chose vibrate+tone, and leave the volume option on MUTE...it will not do both!

so for each of ure notifications [message, phone, sms, IM, etc...]

you will need to 'apply' the Low, Medium or High volume settings!!! [i.e. if u havent already done that!]

 

- check the volume settings for each type of notification!

also make sure u have chosen the 'right' Profile...in which you made the setting adjustments!

 

 

 

Contributor
MrVideo
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

Got it.  It doesn't work as expected.  With the Nokia phones that I had, it would vibrate and ring at the same time.

 

In this case the Blackberry vibrates twice and then starts ringing.  Not the operation I'm looking for.  Can this "feature" be changed so that it rings (plays the tone) and vibrates at the same time? 

Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

Hey! In BlackBerry if set vibrt+tone and set vibrt as 2 times then after 2 vibration device will start ring...from your writing I assume it is working fine.

 

The features that come with BlackBerry can't be changed so easily!! It's RIM who decide what and how for BlackBerry!!!

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Contributor
MrVideo
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vibrate+Tone doesn't work correctly - 8830

Quote: It's RIM who decide what and how for BlackBerry!!!

 

Oh, I fully understand that.  I was hoping that there was a setting to change that default action.