Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Other BlackBerry® Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

password not working

I went to unlock my phone yesterday - I know the password is correct. However it wont unlock and now instead of showing asterisks for my password it is actually showing me what I am typing. I have tried 7 attempts and dont know what to do. Does anybody know why it is actually showing me the letters rather than the asterisks? and how I can solve this.
Forums Advisor II
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: T-Mobile 8100

Re: password not working

take the battery out for 10 seconds. Then try your password again.
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: password not working

After ten attempts it will wipe the device.

It is showing you the letters as after 5 attempts it knows you are having troubles  with the password and shows you what you are typing (the cuase of 99% of all problems is that people are typing the password in uppercase instead or lowercase, etc)
.

 

You can try plugging the handset into your PC with the Desktop Manager software on it. It will prompt you for the password and you can use the PC keyboard.

It this works then you will need to reload the OS.

 

Let us know how you go...

 



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2008
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310

Re: password not working

Yup.. similar problem on my 8310... wiped system twice already!
peace..
Channing
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: password not working

Help!!wiped system out! anyway to retrrived lost info??
Forums Advisor II
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: T-Mobile 8100

Re: password not working


speedzone wrote:
Help!!wiped system out! anyway to retrrived lost info??

 

Not unless you previously made a backup using Desktop Manager or are connected to a BES server with wireless backups enabled.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
My Device: curve 9320

Re: password not working

the same thing happend to me how do you get it to work again

:smileysad: