Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Other BlackBerry® Smartphones

New Contributor
Dszerlag
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

synching issues

I'd like to start by apologizing as I know this has been discussed ad nauseum on this board, however I am new to BB and getting very little help from my part time IT guy.  Reviewing the material here just gets me more confused so I thought I would just submit them straight up.

Her eis my situation.  My office gets EM through MS Exchange Server, my contacts and calendar are on there as well.  We do not have a BB Exchange Server although I have that option on my phone service (Sprint).  When activating my phone I set up gmail and also put in my office em address and password.  I have access to both EM accounts, however my calendar and contacts have not linked.  Is there some way to set up the phone so I can sync these features (wireless)without synching to my laptop?  I don't think the IT guy wants to add BB Exchange to our present server.  Small office, and I am the only one with a BB, everyone else has iPhones/Palms which do sync.

Again  sorry as I am sure this has been discussed many times.

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: synching issues

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

No worries about the nauseum! We love questions that we can help with!!

To help you with what you have -- what you have is BIS service...BlackBerry Internet Service, a service, hosted by your carrier, that provides a conduit between internet facing email systems and your BB. These internet facing systems can be GMail, Yahoo, POP, IMAP -- as well as corporate OWA (Outlook Web Access). It sounds to me that this is your config -- you have GMail plus your corporate OWA emails coming to your BB via BIS.