Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Contributor
lovince
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
My Device: Z10 LE (in Transit)
Accepted Solution

BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

Just picked up the BB10 Alpha Device at the KW Jam yesterday, but have not been able to connect to DM on Mac to pull the update. Has anyone else experienced this?

 

Error message: The BlackBerry Desktop Software cannot connect with this device... blah blah blah blah, and gives me option to Retry or Repair (tried both, no go...)

 

Here are a couple of interesting lines I pulled from the DM logs:

 

(318) 2012-08-24 23:31:46.508 WARN**   HTTP_REQ     Commands   Request: 'http://169.254.0.1/cgi-bin/discovery.cgi' timed out

(318) 2012-08-24 23:31:46.509 ERROR*** default      Commands   (0) Request Did Timeout: <BDRimHTTPRequest: 0x80b4990> -- http://169.254.0.1/cgi-bin/discovery.cgi(?)/ (5.000000)

...

(318) 2012-08-24 23:31:57.528 WARN**   BASECMD      Commands   Device '[Device name:BlackBerry (<pin>) pin:<pin> model:BlackBerry hardwareID:0x4002307 GUID: 21AEED911F04585A7C18BB4382485D17CBB6100D - bundle:smileysad:null)]' is bricked, will attempt re-connect

(318) 2012-08-24 23:32:02.528 WARN**   BASECMD      Commands   Timedout Waiting for bricked device

...

(318) 2012-08-24 23:32:10.539 WARN**   BASECMD      Commands   Device '[Device name:BlackBerry (<pin>) pin:<pin>model:BlackBerry hardwareID:0x4002307 GUID: 21AEED911F04585A7C18BB4382485D17CBB6100D - bundle:smileysad:null)]' is bricked, and not recovering

(318) 2012-08-24 23:32:10.539 ERROR*** default      Commands   Exception BDQNXConnectException -- BDQNXConnectException (Device is invalid or in bootrom mode) created

(318) 2012-08-24 23:32:10.540 WARN**   BASECMD      Commands   Cannot command failed to connect due to Device is invalid or in bootrom mode type: 2 errno: 0... clearing password cache

 

The device is on and perfectly responsive, and had nothing do to it beyond setting up wifi and logging on with BBID. I have also tried various combinations of device/macbook reboots, DM uninstall/reinstall, device repair, changing USB connection type, enabling/disabling development mode.

 

Any ideas?

 

OS/X - 10.8.1

Mac DM - v2.4.0, build 16

BB10 Dev Alpha - 10.0.4.197

 

ps. Also, is the device supposed to come with a micro-sim tray in the slot? Mine doesn't...

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
rbanffy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-25-2012
My Device: BB10 DevAlpha

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

The microSIM tray in within an envelope inside the package. I inserted a microSIM from a local (Brazilian) telco, as well as a cleverly engineered (from a normal SIM) one from T-Mobile and none of them was correctly recognized. I'm running 10.0.4.197 (the device refuses to update).

 

Do we really need to wipe our Macs so they run off a case insensitive FS (come component complains about it)

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 848
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

Re-check your box. Micro SIM tray must be there.It is not in the device.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Contributor
lovince
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
My Device: Z10 LE (in Transit)

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

My bad! Found the tray. Thanks!

 

Still not sticking a SIM in until I can update this thing though. Any ideas?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
rbanffy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-25-2012
My Device: BB10 DevAlpha

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

I'm giving up on the Mac software for now. I'll fire up a Windows VM and try from it. I'll give the Mac software a second try, but from the message complaining about my case-sensitive file system, I'm not overly optimistic.

At least under Linux, I'd have a better chance to find out what's wrong.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
lovince
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
My Device: Z10 LE (in Transit)

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

I tried on my Win7 partition as well, the option to update doesn't even show up. Already tried the troubleshooting stuff on the update page too. Not sure what to do now.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
rbanffy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-25-2012
My Device: BB10 DevAlpha

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

Well then... I suppose I should try it on XP before giving up and waiting for the next DM and driver set betas... 

Please use plain text.
Developer
The_Anomaly
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha / Playbook / Curve 9300

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

Try going into the dev alpha menu (little gear in top right corner).  Go to storage & sharing.  Set the USB connections to "Connect to ..."

If it helped you, click like. :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Developer
raffi
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎06-23-2012
My Device: Z10 & Z30

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

[ Edited ]

I've been having a ton of problems with reinstalling the OS for the dev alpha on my mac but I finally got it to work tonight.

 

Just plug your device in and let the desktop software connect. Then on the alpha, hit reboot and wait until the desktop software prompts you with the disconnection window with the Repair option, but don't click anything yet. Just wait for the alpha to start blinking a red LED and then hit repair in that window of opportunity.

 

Took me forever to get this procedure to work (I was usually either hitting it too early or too late, or I never saw the LED at all for whatever reason) but I finally got it working.

 

Also try out the above poster's advice about setting the Connect To dropdown to Mac, and also make sure there is no password on the device.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
lovince
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
My Device: Z10 LE (in Transit)

Re: BB10 Alpha not connecting to DM on Mac

I didn't have the patience of raffi, and for some reason, even under Windows, DM takes forever to connect and show me the device password prompt. Also, the hit reboot-while-connected wouldn't show me the repair option anymore.

 

I did finally manage to update with the following (under  Win7):

 

  • start up DM
  • make sure Dev Alpha is turned off and plug in USB
  • now, DM detects very quickly now and shows me the repair dialog
  • go through the debrick process as documented
  • then repeat steps above after debrick

Something like 1.5hrs later, I had my device updated finally!

Please use plain text.