Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
jaiaca
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

BB10 simulator on Mac just hangs at start up - Parallels 7

Does the BB10 simulator work on Parallels 7?

I've been able to get things installed but when I run it it hangs. Any suggestions?

 

Thanks

 

 

Untitled.png

Jason I. Carter
Follow me @jasonicarter
Built For BlackBerry - WordsPlus & WordsPlus: Free Edition | word search has never had it so good
www.twocasualcoders.com | never casual on quality
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,313
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: BB10 simulator on Mac just hangs at start up - Parallels 7

This isn't a tested configuration.  The simulator can run natively in VMWare Player on Mac, so you wouldn't need to use Parallels.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
jaiaca
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 simulator on Mac just hangs at start up - Parallels 7

Hi Mark, I'm assuming you meant VMWare Fusion (not Player) on Mac...I was trying Parallels since I already have it installed and didn't want to purchase Fusion. I have a PC as well, so I'll just have to switch over environments for the sim, thanks.

Thanks for the info.
Jason I. Carter
Follow me @jasonicarter
Built For BlackBerry - WordsPlus & WordsPlus: Free Edition | word search has never had it so good
www.twocasualcoders.com | never casual on quality
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
b3n1Am1n
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry 9870 Bold
My Carrier: Orange Romania

Re: BB10 simulator on Mac just hangs at start up - Parallels 7

I have same problem! I run VMware fusion. the simulator stuck at exact the same line. I choosed Safe mode and worked! But is really slow!

 

I have an macbook 3.1, 4gb RAM, core 2 duo 2.2Ghz running MAC OS LION(10.7.5). 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
takaya01
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-29-2012
My Device: blackberry bold
My Carrier: bell canada

Re: BB10 simulator on Mac just hangs at start up - Parallels 7

I get same thing. How do you change to safe mode. I see when it starts, it says it gives a choice 1 or 2 for regular or safe mode, but when i try and type the number, the keyboard is locked.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
b3n1Am1n
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry 9870 Bold
My Carrier: Orange Romania

Re: BB10 simulator on Mac just hangs at start up - Parallels 7

I thinnk you should click on the VMware window and then try to type!

Please use plain text.