Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Regular Contributor
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: verizon
Accepted Solution

Debug on Device??

Newbie here. I'm finally able to debug on an actual device, 9330 which shows:

6.0 Bundle 2333 (v6.0.0.524, Platform 4.4.0.438)

I'm writing apps targeting the 5.0 SDK. I assume from the above that the device itself is release 6.0.0.524, is that correct?  So where do I get the specific simulator for it?  None of the Curve 9330 last 4 digit simulators match. (I'm trying to eliminate all the "can't find debug file" nonsense! Are there any detailed white papers on proper on-device debugging?  Also, I'm trying to use Eclipse.

Thanks in Advance!

BlackBerry Development Advisor
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Debug on Device??

All available BlackBerry smartphone simulators are available for download here:  http://us.blackberry.com/developers/resources/simulators.jsp

There may not be a simulator release for every version available for download.  But we are continously adding more, so you can keep an eye on that page for updates.

Mark Sohm

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Regular Contributor

I've pulled the closest simulator down and can sort of debug the app. However, I am NOT a fan of developing on simulators. I prefer to develop directly on the device (Curve 9330). My attempts at this quickly ran into the problem of NOT being able to display object property values. (I am using Eclipse). Does the BB JDE support on-device debug inspection of objects/properties? (I am NOT interested in system.out.println!). To rephrase the question: