Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
Philipk
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

@Brandonnesbitt I'm also on version 10.0.4.188 and its not working for me either.
_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Contributor
bensmithbortey
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z30

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

same here. Mine don't work
Developer
nonesuchnick
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Me too!  Dev Alpha is running 10.0.4.188 and will not update.  I have tried the troubleshooting process of trying to repair the device 3 times.  It doesn't seem to reinstall the original OS (it doesn't take an hour updating/restarting) and it just keeps saying "There are No Blackberry Software Device Updates available", whether I choose the Update or try and do the Repair.

 

Nick

Learn to run and get in shape with Couch 2AnyK Pro, a Built for BlackBerry native Couch to 5K (C25K) app for BlackBerry 10, available in BlackBerry World.
Contributor
nikog21
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900 and BlackBerry Dev Alpha

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

any new updates?

Contributor
nikog21
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900 and BlackBerry Dev Alpha

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

i am on 10.0.4.197 and  i cant update either

Developer
Innovatology
Posts: 1,280
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Q10, Z30 with Files & Folders and Orbit of course

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Those of you having trouble getting BlackBerry Desktop Software (Bundle 33) to even recognize the Dev Alpha:

 

  • on the device, tap Settings
  • go to the "Storage & Sharing" page
  • change the "USB Connections" setting from "Automatic" to either "Windows" or "Mac"

Symptoms:

 

  • "Tada" sounds when plugging in the Dev Alpha, but BBDS does not see it
  • Dev Alpha shows a screen about installing device drivers, but no "Playbook" drive appears in Windows
  • No "Research in Motion Network Device" listed in Windows Device Manager

Platform: Windows 7, 64-bit, Intel Q6600

BBDS: 7.1.0.32 released 11 july 2012 (Bundle 33)

BBDM: 6.0.0.48

BBDevMgr: 4.2.0.14

RIM USB Driver: 4.2.0.14

RIM USB Serial DriveR: 3.2.0.9

PlayBook RNDIS Driver Interface: 1.0.0.38

Application loader: 7.1.0.22

 

Files & Folders, the unified file & cloud manager for PlayBook and BB10 with SkyDrive, SugarSync, Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Docs. Free 3-day trial! - Jon Webb - Innovatology - Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
nikog21
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900 and BlackBerry Dev Alpha

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

that doesnt solve that issue :-(

Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Hi Everyone,

 

I'm sorry to hear you're having upgrade problems.  We currently have people working on the problem.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Developer
Bluenoser
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z30/Z10/Z10LE/Q10/PlayBook

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

[ Edited ]

I've tried everything and nothing helped. I can see the device in Windows and have downloaded the correct DM and tried every step in the document. I am in Canada.

Developer
miamon
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎08-17-2008
My Device: Red BlackBerry Z10

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

[ Edited ]

Updated with last OS, but now my Dev Alpha not finished to Start :smileysad:

Appears only the BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha logo, and the color lights in movement.

 

I tried with reset and Desktop Manager Update option with no luck.

 

Now awaiting for + or - 40 minutes for reboot with no luck.

 

Are there an option for Wipe Dev Alpha Device via Desktop Manager and reload the OS again? 

 

Thanks in advance

Josep Maria