Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
New Contributor
nMarriott
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I've never used a sim in mine either

Contributor
marioboikov
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
My Device: Developer

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Should DM say "Model: Unknown Device" but still be able to connect etc? No, no upgrade for me either, yet

Developer
taylortbb
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎10-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9900 + PlayBook

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32


tneil wrote:

Do those having issues currently have a SIM card in your device?  If you do, can you try removing it and then doing the desktop upgrade?

 

Or have those having upgrade issues ever inserted a SIM in your device?


I'm experiencing the issue and I have never had a SIM inserted. Other devs I have spoken to that do have SIMs are having issues too.

--------
Taylor Byrnes
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

There are masses of us (20 or more that I know personally) in Canada (therefore without SIMs) who have the update issue.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Contributor
bdely
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: Curve 9380 / PlayBook

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Don't do the wipe and reload, I tried it and it bricked my device and now I can't reload the os.

 

It only says that it can't communicate with the device and when you go through the upgrade repair it just comes back and says there is not update for the device and it does nothing 

New Developer
brandonnesbitt
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
My Device: 9800

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Attempt to update on a second device which had an sim card installed, results was unsuccessful. No update was offered. I will now remove sim card and report back if I can update. My first device had no sim card and was OS 10.0.4.188 not 10.0.4.197 that's on the second alpha device.
***********************************************************************
Please click the "kudos" in my post if I was able to help you on this issue.
Please mark thread as resolved if I was able to fix the issue!!
Developer
nonesuchnick
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Hi Tim,

 

That's another me too on never having used a sim in my device.  I don't own a micro-sim.

 

Thanks for trying to get to the bottom of this and keeping us in the loop!

 

Nick

Learn to run and get in shape with Couch 2AnyK Pro, a Built for BlackBerry native Couch to 5K (C25K) app for BlackBerry 10, available in BlackBerry World.
New Contributor
BBThemes
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Dev Alpha and Bold 9900

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Hi tim, i did have a sim card in mine, removed and rebooted and sadly still no joy

Contributor
theninjew
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9930

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Hey guys. I'm also having trouble getting my dev alpha to update. I've never installed a sim card in my device either.

Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Thanks everyone... 

 

The infrastructure team is scouring the logs of some of the devices that failed..  We'll get to the bottom of it.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter