Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
soaman
Posts: 838
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

We have the same problem with another dev alpha.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gabmontes
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-10-2010
My Carrier: N/A

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

All, I think most of you already know, but for the others...

Turn your device on while plugged in to power source (charger or USB to the computer). Not doing so seems to prevent the device to boot up correctly and staying in the "BB10 Dev Alpha" screen with no animation.
Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 838
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I left overnight on PlayBook's charger but screen stays the same even after 12 hours.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Developer
The_Anomaly
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎08-06-2012

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

My dev alpha does not charge using the playbook charger.  It has to be USB or original part (which is some weird charger from another country).

If it helped you, click like. :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 838
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I am trying with original charger and it is the same situation.

I also noticed that now when I disconnect the cable, device turns off. So it is not charging at all not with original charger nor pb charger nor with direct USB. :-(
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Developer
The_Anomaly
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎08-06-2012

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Well it sounds like thats possibly your problem.  Your dev alpha is not charging!

 

The other comments are correct you have to get the sequence right.  You cannot turn on while not plugged in.  You also need to read up about the lights - there's another thread about this.  Different colored LED light flashes on the top of the phone will tell you whats wrong.  There's Green, amber and red combinations.

 

Maybe your dev Alphas battery is a dud.

If it helped you, click like. :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Nescafemix
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-26-2012
My Carrier: VODAFONE

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

same here...

My blackberry 10 dev alpha is not charging.

 

When i connect to wall or USB, a red led turns on about 3-5 seconds and then turns off. 2-3 seconds later, the blackberry 10 dev alpha log appears and... that's all... BRICK.

 

This situations comes with the update and restore...

 

Blackberry... what can we do?...

Please use plain text.
New Member
afreire
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-28-2012
My Carrier: NA

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I can't update the BB10, the process stuck in "Installing sys.data.imf.fr_FR", what can I do?


Regards

Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 838
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Yes, red led turns on for a while but only once.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Contributor
arnoldc
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Carrier: None

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Just chip in what I observed from my new Alpha device as I picked up from Vancouver Jam yesterday.

 

- Installed fresh BBM (Mac ver 2.4 Build 16) on my MacBook.

- Connected device (running 10.0.4 Bundle 197).  BBM shows no new update.

- Restarted device with USB connected.   Ignore BBM prompt for lost connection by clicking 'cancel'.

- Waited till it booted up and BBM detected the device again and the screen shows new update available.  Click "Update" to update latest OS

- Waited till the update is done.  The device would restart by itself.

- Now this is the part become weary.  The device seemed to hang in the BB bootup screen forever.  The background did move a bit to ensure it wasn't hanged.  Wait like ten minutes and the device would finally start up properly.

-  BBM would detect the device but it still showed the old software version.

- Unplugged USB and reconnected device again.  This time, BBM would show the correct new version.

 

On a side note, I couldn't fit the SIM tray into the SIM slot.  Apparently, the SIM slot was blocked as I peeked inside it has a piece of dummy card glued.  Anyone has any idea since the instructions say I can insert a SIM card...

 

 

Please use plain text.