Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Contributor
nikog21
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900 and BlackBerry Dev Alpha
My Carrier: 3473353008

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Wow almost 10 hours and RIM has no solution...
Please use plain text.
Developer
Philipk
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

@nikog21 RIM employees have to sleep too!
_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Please use plain text.
Contributor
nikog21
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900 and BlackBerry Dev Alpha
My Carrier: 3473353008

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Yeah agreed, but also you are talking about device given to developers to finally bring more of then aboard. With perception of RIM not being able to do anything correct this doesn't help. This is actually sad. There shouldn't be an issue... And before you kill me I am and will be a die hard BlackBerry user...I am not hating or being rude in anyway but come on..its simple ..its an update and it now 12 hours of nothing ...
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
bigmokujin
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Well said.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
ksoroch
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: ATT

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Have to agree. It is an Alpha device but still what internal testing is done before releasing? are these the same folks writing the OS itself? If so it may explain all the delays and makes for serious quality concerns with the OS itself

Please use plain text.
Developer
greenback
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10, DAC

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Honestly, this thread only illustrates how passionate BlackBerry developers are about their work. I am know with 100% certainty that all the teams at RIM/BlackBerry who worked on the tooling are equally if not more passionate about the updates and wanting to have them working in our hands.

 

Sh** happens, ok?

 

I would like to thank the teams working on all the tooling/updates/dev rel for:

  1. Putting in long days/hours/months into pushing out updates and keeping BB10 on schedule
  2. Releasing support for C++/Native/Cascades/HTML5/Air. WOW. True options.
  3. Giving us insight into future SDK Releases (a first)

A fix will be provided and we will continue hacking away at amazing apps and products we want to get into the hands of millions of consumers via a straightforward distribution channel.

 

My 2 cents. Thanks.

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
nikog21
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900 and BlackBerry Dev Alpha
My Carrier: 3473353008

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

**bleep** happens? That is unacceptable from a company like RIM ...I am sad you said that cuz that shows where the bar is with RIM...
Please use plain text.
Developer
Philipk
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

Dude... get some food, watch a movie, use the new SDK that just got released to work on your Apps... and check back in 24 hours.

Of course your going to be pissed off if you are checking back to see if they fixed it every 15 minutes for 10 hours straight... sheesh
_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Please use plain text.
Developer
CrackBerry_Bla1ze
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-20-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers Wireless

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

It just looks bad.. I mean, I get it.. things happen but rolling out a dev alpha update should go smooth as can be at this point.

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: DevAlpha not updating on Desktop (Bundle 33) - 7.1.0.32

I'm quite certain that all those whining about the problem and how it's entirely unacceptable and the end of the world are those few super-developer who have *never* implemented broken code, spent time debugging (because their code is flawless), or ever shipped anything that wasn't deemed perfect by all their users...

I, on the other hand, have been a developer for 30+ years and for some bizarre reason, I'm willing to cut RIM some slack with this sort of thing. Maybe it's because I've been in charge of teams responsible for releasing real code, and because I develop complex systems which -- yes, sometimes, I admit -- are slightly less than perfect.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.