Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
br14
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

"It has been frozen there for about 30 min"

 

Mine was stuck for a couple of hours.

 

Then it must have timed out, after which it gave me the option to retry. When I retried it more or less immediately started to install.

 

I don't know what it would take to permit over the air updates (as with Playbook) but whatever it would cost must be worth it to avoid this nonsense every time. I've wasted most of this afternoon and evening on what is rapidly turning out to be a waste of time.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
harshalbid271
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-17-2012
My Device: Newb Playbook Developer
My Carrier: -

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

Technically it is unrelated to this problem, but it is causing more and more people to wipe their devices.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
harshalbid271
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-17-2012
My Device: Newb Playbook Developer
My Carrier: -

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

This kills all the enthusiasm built by the Jam Events.

Please use plain text.
Developer
hrbuckley
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
My Device: LE Z10
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

Got a bit further this time, as far as writing to device then got the error:

Unspecified error encountered [A:0x00000080]

 

It is booting now so I'll try again...

 

This time for sure! -- Bullwinkle

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
AllSystemGo
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

I got the error 0x80 today and it was because I was missing some space on my computer. Might be your case too.  

Please use plain text.
Developer
footose
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎03-12-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

Got mine working.

 

Ok, I got mine to detect a "repair" following most of what papped said, in combination with the following:

 

*NOTE* YOu may only have to start at step 13...

I got mine working using the following:

1) Plug Dev Alpha into computer

2) Open device manager

3) uninstalled the 2 "CD-ROMS" that were installed

4) uninstalled USB Mass Storage Device

5) unplugged dev-alpha

6) killed all processes that have "RIM" in them

7) uninstalled AppLoaderWebSL_7.1.0.34.msi

8) uninstalled desktop software

9) reboot PC

10) downloaded Desktop Software v7.1.0 B33 (BlackBerry - Desktop Software - US)

11) installed above

12) installed AppLoaderWebSL_7.1.0.34.msi

13) ran desktop manager

14) rebooted dev-alpha (at this point, the "smartphone should install")

15) reboot dev-alpha again and desktop manager should prompt you that it can't connect - click "repair"

16) *SUPER IMPORTANT* press and hold power button again until you see red LED and voila ... it recognizes the device and sees an update!

 

http://i.imgur.com/06rnX.png

Please use plain text.
Developer
hrbuckley
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
My Device: LE Z10
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

[ Edited ]

Lots of space on my machine, but I will keep an eye on that to see if if fills up as we go.

 

I ran the .msi file again and that reset the process back to downloading the module. Network seems busier now so it is taking longer but it is progressing steadily. Fingers and toes crossed.

 

At least it has never bricked yet, I always get back to 10.0.6

 

Edit:

 

I take it back. I had 8 GB free on C Drive and at about 20% done it was down to 7 GB free. So I freed up another 6 GB. Hope that will be enough. I have 14 GB free now.

 

Edit:

 

So the 0x80 error was disk space. Success!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
acolagrosso
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

Wow looks like its working for me so far! Thanks alot!!

 

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
CrozyBB
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: Bold 9790, Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: Koodo

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

acolagrosso, what did you do to get it working? I followed the steps above and that has done nothing for me :smileysad:

Please use plain text.
Contributor
bobbydriscol
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: Playbook, 9670, 9800, 9350
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Do not wipe Dev Alpha Update 10.0.9 Bundle 44

Steps if you've bricked your Dev Alpha (only have web browser):

 

Launch WipeReload.bat

  1. Make sure your mouse is over the disabled button to update on your computer
  2. With your Dev Alpha plugged in, restart the device (hold power button for 10 seconds after the countdown shows)
  3. When the dev alpha red led lights up, you have a split second to click that button in the WipeReload.bat application instance. If you miss it you'll need to wait until the dev alpha starts up and try again.
  4. Update the device
Please use plain text.