Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
My Device: all
My Carrier: all
Accepted Solution

Invalid COD 404 nout found error

Hi. Trying to deploy a project to a subdirectory on a server so the path to all the files is www.myservername.com/downloads/ Have 1 project which downloads fine from there so would appear the mime types have been set ok (.jad text/vnd.sun.j2me.app-descriptor  / .cod application/vnd.rim.cod). but the other bombs out with 907 Invalid COD Http error 404 not found. It looks as though its going to work, actually apppears to do the download and then fails at the end......I'm not sure why the JAD file has references to other cod files - I'm assuming the main COD file contains the others somehow? The actual COD file is about 600K in size so not sure if that is an issue? All I have uploaded is the JAD, JAR and the COD file, all in the same directory. Can anyone see from this file what could be the issue? Tried specifying the full path on the server and made no difference. These files have been deleted and recompiled so its not a previous issue problem either. Do I need to split out these other COD files? Is that even possible???

 

RIM-COD-SHA1-4: d6 8c ec f3 1e 09 a5 43 7b 3d c8 72 6d 49 6d 92 ab f2 07 90
RIM-COD-SHA1-3: 6d 62 f9 87 45 80 51 d8 70 b7 f0 86 18 09 20 1d 92 12 b2 03
RIM-COD-SHA1-2: 92 27 2c d3 b8 ab b5 42 f4 c9 d0 c7 85 cf a9 bd 73 db e7 38
RIM-COD-URL-11: SecureLocate1gen-11.cod
RIM-COD-SHA1-1: f0 2d 44 5e 72 e1 0a f9 e7 62 a2 11 27 5e 01 92 1e c7 72 5c
RIM-COD-URL-10: SecureLocate1gen-10.cod
RIM-MIDlet-Flags-1: 1
MIDlet-Jar-Size: 1154972
MIDlet-Name: SecureLocate1gen
MIDlet-Jar-URL: SecureLocate1gen.jar
MicroEdition-Configuration: CLDC-1.1
MIDlet-Description: Olive Groups asset tracking application
RIM-COD-URL-9: SecureLocate1gen-9.cod
RIM-COD-URL-8: SecureLocate1gen-8.cod
RIM-COD-URL-7: SecureLocate1gen-7.cod
RIM-MIDlet-Position-1: 1
RIM-COD-Module-Dependencies: net_rim_cldc,net_rim_bbapi_phone,net_rim_bbapi_invoke,net_rim_locationapi,net_rim_ui_extension,net_rim_os
RIM-COD-URL-6: SecureLocate1gen-6.cod
RIM-COD-URL-5: SecureLocate1gen-5.cod
RIM-COD-URL-4: SecureLocate1gen-4.cod
RIM-COD-URL-3: SecureLocate1gen-3.cod
RIM-COD-URL-2: SecureLocate1gen-2.cod
RIM-COD-URL-1: SecureLocate1gen-1.cod
RIM-COD-Size-9: 46564
RIM-COD-Size-8: 36152
RIM-COD-Size-7: 40224
RIM-COD-Size-6: 56824
RIM-COD-Size-5: 43568
RIM-COD-Size-4: 56608
RIM-COD-Size-3: 40196
RIM-COD-Module-Name: SecureLocate1gen
RIM-COD-Size-2: 51572
RIM-COD-Size-1: 66084
RIM-COD-SHA1: 78 d3 5b be 29 70 77 78 00 34 9f 67 5f 1f 07 19 22 e5 9f df
RIM-COD-Size: 65052
MicroEdition-Profile: MIDP-2.0
RIM-COD-Size-11: 45148
RIM-COD-Size-10: 49932
MIDlet-Vendor: Olive Group
MIDlet-1: SecureLocate,img/icons/default.png,
RIM-COD-URL: SecureLocate1gen.cod
RIM-COD-SHA1-11: ff dd 9a 35 92 92 0c d7 a8 bb c7 1a 0f 49 b5 7e 72 54 bc 51
RIM-COD-SHA1-10: ac f3 4d 02 a9 16 2f 55 11 0c 77 5e bb 8e c8 a2 12 ba a0 59
Manifest-Version: 1.0
MIDlet-Version: 1.0.0
RIM-COD-SHA1-9: 99 d4 97 06 cf f6 22 24 72 af bf 45 ba ea 97 5b f8 65 d9 3c
RIM-COD-SHA1-8: f1 d0 6a 8c d1 fe 37 1a 2a 39 08 0a 7d 16 e4 89 62 a7 c7 de
RIM-COD-SHA1-7: 17 bc 98 a7 44 74 e3 2d 86 b2 c9 07 b5 3d 52 2e f1 8d fd 8c
RIM-COD-SHA1-6: 0c 6b c0 be 29 3b e9 db 99 77 bc 43 91 36 02 fa e4 20 96 0e
RIM-COD-Creation-Time: 1311059905
RIM-COD-SHA1-5: 8c 04 b8 3d 6e 31 6a 90 8c c0 fc a4 c7 0f 77 ac 3f 2f c1 fa

Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
My Device: all
My Carrier: all

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

I've split out the individual cod files now using winzip. Uploaded all cod files including the original to the server. Actually now get the timer appear the amount of times corresponding to the amount of cod files (about 11). Gets all the way to the end and then bombs out with 907 Invalid Cod. Thats the entire message.....Can someone tell me whats going on pls. Like I said the app has been re-signed and all files removed before re-building the app. The app installs fine if I use the BB desktop software - just won't load over the air. Can someone please help?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,070
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

You should not deploy the original cod file, only those you extracted.  The name of the first file you extract is the same as the original file you are extracting from.  This means you overwrote one of the files with something invalid.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
My Device: all
My Carrier: all

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

thanks - I did get it sorted in the end

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: IDEA

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

So BTW, how did this get solved ? Could you please provide some insight on this ?

Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
My Device: all
My Carrier: all

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

Hi tsvidya. There were a couple of issues and there were a number of things I found out on route so hopefully this will help you out:

 

1 - Whenever you build an app, its always best to delete the current application .cod file/s if they exist so that they get recreated from scratch.

 

2 - make sure that you have the relevent mime types setup on the site where you are going to download the files from. This small article will tell you what file extension and mime types you need to add - http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Testing-and-Deployment/The-required-MIME-types-for-a-web-serv...

 

Just note that as they are file extensions you will probably need to stick a period in front so it will be .cod, .jad and .jar when you enter the details. If you can't work out how to do this under your hosting package you will need to speak to your hosting provider.

 

3 - A .cod file can act as a zip file for other .cod files which was a bit confusing for me first time out. If you check my initial posting you can see there are references to xxx-1.cod, xxx-2.cod up to xxx-9.cod (you can just use something like notepad or other text editor to read your JAD file). In my application directory, I only had 1 cod file so I knew this was a container for other files. Once I unpacked those files (I used a trial version of WINZIP to do this - presumably other zip/unzip programs will allow you to do the same aswell), I uploaded all the newly unpacked files and the JAD file to the same directory on my server.

 

4 - Once I had done that I still had issues though. It would go all the way through the process and then right at the end give me the same error. I was trying to install an application created using version 5 of the BB JDE onto a 9700 Torch loaded with version 6 of the operating system. I assumed this would be ok but as a test I installed the version 6 BB JDE as well to my PC, created a new project, imported in the  v5 files and then signed and compiled as a V6 application. I then posted this out to the website, tested and this time it worked - woohoo.

 

It was strange because I could install the v5 app onto the same torch using the BB desktop app absolutely fine. It was only when dowloading OTA I had the problem. I had to go through the v6 install the same way as version 5 because at present there is no way of using 1 BB JDE and compile to different versions (as far as I am aware - perhaps this is something RIM could think about in future versions if anyone from RIM is reading?)

 

If you do decide to run more than 1 JDE on the same machine, just be aware that you will probably need to copy a couple of the BB signing files under the new install which allow you to sign the BB app using the same details. This article will tell you which signing files to backup and where to place them in the new installs on the same machine - http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Testing-and-Deployment/Backup-and-Restore-BlackBerry-Code-Sig...

 

Hope that helps - if not give me a shout and I will see what I can do to help. Cheers for now.

 

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,070
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

The application built using the version 5.0 BlackBerry JDE should be compatible with a BlackBerry Smartphone running 6.0.  For reference, this article explains the compatability requirements.

 

Appropriate version of the BlackBerry JDE and BlackBerry Java SDK

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Appropriate-version-of-the-BlackBerry-JDE-an...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: IDEA

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

Hi slaphead400

 

Thanks for your detailed explanation. I figured out what the problem was. It was exactly the point number 3 which you have mentioned.

 

Just to add to your things, I am basically using the BB Eclipse plugin. When we do the packaging , two directories get created- Standard and Web. For transfering COD using Desktop manager use the cod file which is present in the "Standard" directory. In case of uploading on to the server, use "web" directory, which ofcourse you get to load the individual files (xxx-1.cod, xxxx-2.cod etc) and the master cod file too.

 

I think these aspects should be part of FAQ. It is quite difficulty to figure out the problem and the solution to it. Hope Mark is listening.

Thanks once again.

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,070
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Invalid COD 404 nout found error

We do have a deployment guide available here.  I realize it's likely too late for this issue now... but hopefully this helps in the future.

 

How to Deploy and Distribute Applications

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Testing-and-Deployment/How-to-Deploy-and-Distribute-Applicati...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker