Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Triggering the trusted application prompt after reinstalling an application

by BlackBerry Development Advisor on ‎07-29-2010 03:10 PM - edited on ‎09-20-2010 05:23 PM by Retired (1,949 Views)

Summary

 

This article applies to:

 

  • BlackBerry® devices based on Java® technology

 

Description

 

When an application is first installed, the BlackBerry device user can be prompted to grant the application trusted status. Responding Yes to this prompt modifies the application's Application Control Policy, setting some options to Allow or Prompt. If a user uninstalls an application and immediatly reinstalls the application, they are not shown this prompt again. Instead, the Application Control Policy for the previously installed application is reused.

 

While this behaviour is of benefit for the user who accidently uninstalled an application, it can cause an issue when testing an application, since the behaviour for a reinstall differs from a fresh install. You can reset the Application Control Policy for the uninstalled application, which will tigger the trusted prompt to appear after the next installation by following the steps below.

 

  1. Uninstall the application.
  2. Go to Options, (Advanced Options) Applications.
  3. Press the Menu button and click Edit Default Permissions.
  4. Press the Menu button and click Apply Defaults to All.
  5. Reinstall the application.
Users Online
Currently online: 8 members 650 guests
Please welcome our newest community members: