Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2
Accepted Solution

Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

hi, i'm trying to update my dev alpha to 10.0.6 but every time i start the update it fails at the downloading.

always when i reach module 35 of 39 it says that i lost my internet connection and i need to start again.

 

maybe my connection is just to slow? i download with 200kb/s (dsl 2000)

what can i do? any solutions?

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Pradeep23oct
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-22-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 dev Alpha
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

Facing the same problem

Please use plain text.
Developer
Developer
tw_
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: O2

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

I had a similar problem. My download attempts froze after some time (modul 24 or 35). I believe this are the biggest files. But I didn't get any error message. It just froze.

 

So I used the "tcpview" tool from Microsoft's free Sysinternals suite and closed all connections of the process "Loader.exe". Then it started again and after several attempts I could download all files and my Dev Alpha got updated.

Please use plain text.
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

so it seems like BB has a timeout after the download fails.

maybe they can increase it for the people with a slow internet connection?

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Pradeep23oct
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-22-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 dev Alpha
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

just go frustrated while updating , this was worst update scenario i have ever met , and guess what still unable to update  :Helpsmilie:

Please use plain text.
Developer
Developer
tw_
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: O2

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

Actually my internet connection is not the fastest but it is not slow either (I use a 16 Mbit/s DSL connection). Using the tcpview tool I could see the real progress in terms of downloaded bytes and it was pretty fast until it froze. I don't know why this happened. Also RIM uses obviously Akamai servers for the update distribution so there should be no issue with overloaded servers or something.

 

Anyway after four or five attempts where I had to close the stalled connection as described above it worked for me. Also I think that the updater did not download all files again (though it said so). I'm not sure about the this but my last attempt went pretty fast.

Please use plain text.
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

no message from BB about this issue?

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
spoutnik
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
My Device: DevAlpha, PlayBook
My Carrier: BaseDE, BouyguesFR

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

I have the same problem. What is truely weird is that the modules are not cached on disk. So it always starts at 0 again and you wait for a long time just to find it failing shortly before the finish line.

I managed to work around using the desktop manager on a macintosh. There it was no issue. So I think it is a problem of the Windows Software.

 

Nevertheless I am now stuck because the device somehow downraded itself after reboot. Update seems to work but after it is done I am still on the 10.0.4 version. Repair is broken because the Desktop manager does not wait long enough for the device to reboot.

 

I would join the previous post: this is the worst update scenario I have ever seen!

What puzzles me is that they got it right on the playbook and now it is a complete mess..

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Pradeep23oct
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-22-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 dev Alpha
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

my problem get solved, actually i updated my bb 10 dev alpha in my office internet which is not a dialup connection,

i guess this is dialup connection related problem 

Please use plain text.
Developer
smartek
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: o2

Re: Updating to 10.0.6 always fails at Module 35 of 39

it all was because of my internet speed. now i made it with a dsl60000 connection (6mb/s) and it worked

Plase "+Like" my post if it was helpful.
Please use plain text.