Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
New Developer
nelson0511
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
My Device: devloper

error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

got this message after entering some code into my project then trying to run the app on the simulator. if i remove the code and just have the template the app will run and show the text "hello world"

New Developer
nelson0511
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
My Device: devloper

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

how would you fix this and get rid of the error?

do you want me to send the code i entered/

Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 6,118
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

LOL. Best one yet.

 

No need to send code my crystal ball will give me the answer shortly.

 


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 6,118
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

Before posting read this...

 

http://developer.blackberry.com/native/reference/cascades/debug.html

 

and this...

 

http://developer.blackberry.com/native/documentation/cascades/getting_started/tools/debugging.html

 

then look for red crosses against source code or qml files in your project, if you find one look inside the file for where an offending line has been marked.

 

Alternatively look at the console ouput and log file to see if they tell you were the problem is.

 

After all that if you are still stuck post your code.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
New Developer
nelson0511
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
My Device: devloper

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

i want to run the app on the simulator not debug

Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 6,118
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

It doesn't matter what you want to run it on the error message indicates you have not got something right in your project either in C++ code or QML.

 

This forum is not really here to teach c++ programming or how to debug code so look for those crosses and try and work out what you have done wrong, at least narrow it down to which file the error is in.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Kareem_ELSayed
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

Hello Nelson0511,

 

This means you have some errors in your projects which needs to be solved so you can run the app on the simulator or device.

 

In order to help you, we need the code and errors you are getting in the problems window (if not visible, go to Menu-->Window-->Show View-->Problems) or copy paste from the console window.

 

In C++ Errors looks like:

Errors.png

 

in QML, Errors :Looks like:

 

Errors-QML.png

 

Thanks,

Kareem.

 

Kareem ELSayed | Application Development Consultant | Developer Relations | BlackBerry | Twitter:@kemobyte
New Developer
nelson0511
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
My Device: devloper

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

In c++ errors under errors it says "syntax error" and the other "extraneous input 'varchar' expecting EOF"

 

the code i entered in the Qml is:

varchar[10]get first name(varchar[50] full name]){int=0; while ((full name [i] !=" "]))}

 

this is my base template code:

// Default empty project template

import

bb.cascades 1.0

 

// creates one page with a label

Page

{

 

Container{

 

layout: DockLayout{}

 

Label{

 

text: qsTr("Hello world")

 

textStyle.base: SystemDefaults.TextStyles.BigText

 

verticalAlignment: VerticalAlignment.Center

 

horizontalAlignment: HorizontalAlignment.Center

}

}

}

 

sorry for taking so long to reply

hopefully this helps you help me

 

nelson0511

New Developer
nelson0511
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
My Device: devloper

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

also in the c++ errors under the error section it says warnings and lists these:

invalid project path: duplicate path entries found                     location: pathentry

source file of assets "firstappproject.so" does not exist          location: line 75

source file of assets "firstappproject" does not exist.               location: line 79

 

 

Developer
Zmey
Posts: 1,512
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
My Device: PlayBook, Z10, DAC

Re: error message: errors exist in a required project. continue launch?

This is not valid C++ or JavaScript code, it won't compile.

I suggest devoting a few months to studying the basics of these programming languages. After that, Cascades documentation & samples should make more sense.

Andrey Fidrya, @zmeyc on twitter