Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,084
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

8300 drop down select disply issue

Quote from the previous forums:


esmithq2soft

Posts: 1
From: Austin, TX
Registered: Jun, 2008

8300 drop down select disply issue
Posted: Jul 16, 2008 10:18 AM
 
Problem: On page load, the drop down will display all of its items together as a single selected item delimited by a space. The drop down will not have any other items listed when selected.

I haven't been able to determine whether the cause is:
a single character that breaks the drop down
length of a single item within the select
length of all items with the select

I'm using a 8300 emulator to recreate the problem, is there a method to extract the rendered source from the emulator, screenshots just don't help too much?


Can you provide a URL to your page, a sample page or a code snippet with a select element that reproduces this behaviour?  What is the version of BlackBerry handheld software used in the BlackBerry Simulator?  You can find this under Options, About.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

[ Edited ]
Unfortunately the application involved contains sensitive information and requires authentication to view the problematic control.  If there is way to enable logging on the MDS emulator to capture the http traffic I'll be very happy to post it, but I've been unsuccessful to populate the web_access_logs with any data.
Message Edited by esmithq2 on 07-16-2008 03:26 PM
New Developer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

[ Edited ]

We've had this issue reported on several unspecified BlackBerry Devices, and I'm able to recreate it using the 8300 emulator.  The current version of the emulator I'm using to test is:

 

BlackBerry 8300

smartphone (EDGE0

v4.2.2.146(Platform)

Cryptographic Kernel v3.8.4.47

Micro Edition Configuration: CLD-1.1

Micro Edition Profile: MIDP-2.0

Micro Edition JTWI Version: 1.0

Micro Edition Media Version: 1.1

Micro Edition PIM Version: 1.0

Micro Edition File Version: 1.0

www.blackberry.com

Message Edited by esmithq2 on 07-16-2008 03:26 PM
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,084
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

Please see the following link for instructions on enabling HTML logging in the MDS Simulator (used with the BlackBerry Simulator).  This will allow you to view the HTML that is being sent from the web server.

 

How To - Enable HTTP and HTML logging in the Mobile Data Service Simulator
Article Number: DB-00156

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800738/800792/801079/...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

[ Edited ]
Ah, my problem is that the traffic is over https.  Adding 

application.handler.https.logging = true
application.handler.https.logging.verbose= true

 

to [HTTPS HANDLER] does not create any additional logs.  I'll try to recreate the problem on an application that I can reach via http.
Message Edited by esmithq2 on 07-18-2008 03:09 PM
Message Edited by esmithq2 on 07-18-2008 03:09 PM
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,084
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

This is the expected behaviour, HTTPS content is not logged.  Let us know the results from testing an HTTP site.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

I have a local copy of the application that I'm browsing to just to verify the output of logs.  I'm not seeing anything useful in the logs that would resemble an HTML document.  I'm assuming that logging directory is MDS\logs\webserver and specifically I should be looking at the log named:   COMPNAME_web_access_logTODAYSDATE.txt; however, this log is 0 bytes even after browsing http sites.  I tried browsing to sites that are local to the computer that MDS is running on, systems that are on the LAN, and internet sites such as google, but still haven't see this log grow.  Below is my rimpublic.property file

 

[Logging] Logging.level=4 Logging.console.log.level=4 [WebServer] WebServer.Tomcat.transcoding=false WebServer.listen.host=localhost WebServer.listen.port=8080 WebServer.listen.sslport=8443 WebServer.servlet.push.port=81 WebServer.servlet.push.host=localhost WebServer.servlet.sb.ssl=false WebServer.servlet.sb.authentication=false [IPPP] IPPP.push.listen.tcp.port=81 IPPP.connection.MaxNumberOfKBytesToSend=256 IPPP.queue.flowcontrol.window.size=-1 IPPP.queue.flowcontrol.timeout=600000 IPPP.logging=true [UDP] UDP.receive.port=19781 UDP.send.default=19780 UDP.send.host=localhost UDP.logging=false [HTTP HANDLER] application.handler.http.logging = true application.handler.http.logging.verbose= true application.handler.http.CookieSupport = true application.handler.http.AuthenticationSupport = true application.handler.http.AuthenticationTimeout = 3600000 application.handler.http.device.connection.timeout = 120000 application.handler.http.server.connection.timeout = 120000 [HTTPS HANDLER] application.handler.https.allowUntrustedServer = false [TLS HANDLER] application.handler.tls.allowUntrustedServer = false [OCSP HANDLER] application.handler.ocsp.StatusProviders = net.rim.protocol.iplayer.connection.handler.device.ocsp.OCSPProvider application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.PrimaryResponderRank = Default application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.Responder.Default = http://dhobbs-wnt.rim.net/ocsp application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.UseDeviceResponders = yes application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.UseCertResponders = yes application.handler.ocsp.DebugLogging = no [LDAP HANDLER] application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_SERVER = dhobbs-wnt application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_PORT = 389 application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_QUERY = ou=people, o=rim.net application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_LIMIT = 20 application.handler.ldap.COMPRESSION = true application.handler.ldap.logging = false [Database] MDSName=MDS [Simulator] #[CDK_MODIFICATIONS for Running Multiple Simulators] # Each simulator instance must have a unique IPPP port assignment # ie. Simulator fledge.exe command lines must have: # /ignore-data-port-conflicts /app-param=IPPPSourcePort: <port> Simulator.2100000a=MDS,simulator@pushme.com Simulator.2100000b=MDS,user2100000b@pushme.com Simulator.2100000c=MDS,user2100000c@pushme.com Simulator.2100000d=MDS,user2100000d@pushme.com Simulator.2100000e=MDS,user2100000e@pushme.com Simulator.2100000f=MDS,user2100000f@pushme.com [ACL] ACL.Authorization.Datastore=net.rim.shared.service.authorization.JDBCAuthorizationDatastore [Java Security Property] networkaddress.cache.ttl=0 [Email] #Email.mode =standalone #Email.mode =connect Email.mode =none #Common settings for both standalone and connect mode Email.personal =Test User Email.address =myemail@mycompany.com Email.deviceId =2100000a #Connect mode settings Email.pop3Server =popServer Email.smtpServer =smtpServer Email.smtpPort =25 Email.pop3Port =110 Email.userId =popUser Email.password =popPassword Email.pollInterval=30 [SRPH] SRPH.AuthenticationString=yb3z-iw9z-acbm-e722-bfbk-8fah-hnjj-vmcn-25a8-aqgy SRPH.UID=S 00005 SRPH.listen.port=3200 #FS.sourceDir=mobitex_simulator #FSLayer.logging=true #push.application.reliable.ports=100

 

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,084
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

Please also add the following lines to the rimpublic.property file.

 

[Logging] Logging.level=4 Logging.console.log.level=4 Logging.file.location=logs Logging.file.log.level=4

 

Then you should see a .txt file in the \MDS\logs directory with the HTML content.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

[ Edited ]

Well, my 8300 emulator no longer works, at application load an exception "JVM Error 545 incompatible or corrupt filesystem" is thrown.  I've installed 2 other emulators in the meantime (4.3.0.124-8330 & 4.3.0.97-8130) however these 2 emulators do not display the same drop down issue that our application experienced with the 8300 simulator and phones. 

 

I've tried uninstalling & reinstalling the 8300 emulator, but it didn't solve the startup exception.  The newer emulators work fine, along with other java runtime based applications.

Message Edited by esmithq2 on 07-21-2008 02:46 PM
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,084
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: 8300 drop down select disply issue

Please run clean.bat to reset the BlackBerry Simulator to its default state.  You can find this in the simulator directory.

 

If it is not present (not all simulators have this) please manually delete all of the .dmp files in the simulator directory.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker