Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Regular Contributor
CrozyBB
My Device: Bold 9790, Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: Koodo

API Access in BB10 (HTML5 or Native?)

Hey all, let me first apologize if something similar has been discuessed/asked elsewhere.

I'm new to mobile app development and programming (to a certain extent) and I've been getting pretty excited about a few apps I have in mind for the BB10 launch. With that being said, I'm currently torn between choosing HTML5 and C++ as my language base to code in. I hear both are great to work with for BB10 and that HTML5 is probably easier for new programmer.

The important part for me is that whichever language I choose to develop in I want to make sure I will be able to accomplish all the tasks of my program. So the basic requirements I'm looking for are as follow:

-Access to camera and file system

-Access to BBM API's (obviously not yet released for BB10)

-Access to SQL DB's

-Call/Write cababilities for web API's such as twitter, facebook, etc. This one I know will work regardless of the language however I'm more interested in which will be easier to make calls in

---->Network access seems difficult so far using C++

-Scoreloop integration

-Making an awesome UI (Cascades or BBUI.js)

Thoughts on which would be best?? I mostly just dont want to be stuck developing for one language and then down the road realize that it can't do everything I want. Hopefully I make sense but I would be surprised if it sounds confusing haha

Thanks and cheers!

Please use plain text.
Contributor
papped
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: API Access in BB10 (HTML5 or Native?)

Theoretically I think you can do everything in either one.  Couple things worth noting though:

-C++ api's arrive faster than webworks.