Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
ssupreet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-14-2009

App not working in BES.

Hi,

 

I have developed a social app for my organisation , it works fine over BIS and wifi but its not able to connect to internet over wifi ..my guess is probably the connectoin string specified in config.xml is not correct.

 

Below is what I have in my config.xml, do help and let me know if i am missing anything.

 

thanks

 

<rim:connection timeout="250000">
<id>TCP_WIFI</id>
<id>MDS</id>
<id>BIS-B</id>
<id>TCP_CELLULAR</id>
<id>WAP2</id>
<id>WAP</id>
</rim:connection>

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,453
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Carrier: Bell

Re: App not working in BES.

Hi there,

 

Those look correct based on this:

https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/id_element_834682_11.html

 

<rim:connection timeout="25000">
   <id>MDS</id>
   <id>BIS-B</id>
   <id>TCP_WIFI</id>
   <id>TCP_CELLULAR</id>
   <id>WAP2</id>
   <id>WAP</id>
</rim:connection>

 

You're free to rearrange/remove any of those <id> elements as you see fit. 

 

I was hoping you could please clarify.

 

it works fine over...wifi but its not able to connect to internet over wifi

 

Do you mean that, when only WiFi is turned on, on the device, then the application works but the default browser does not?


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ssupreet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-14-2009

Re: App not working in BES.

Hi,
Am sorry, guess I didn't check before I posted it :smileywink:

I meant that the app works fine over bis and WiFi but does not work over BES.
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,453
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Carrier: Bell

Re: App not working in BES.

Ah, in that case we'll probably need to see some code; specifically if you've identified "what" exactly is failing when going through the MDS / BES. The list you have there will prioritize each of the transports and should only attempt to go through the MDS if a direct TCP_WIFI route is not available.

 

This does not change any implementation in your application, as the OS will do the transport selection itself. However, we do have to be mindful of BES-specific configurations.

 

Would you be able to expand on what exactly isn't working in the application? It might give some leads for a root cause.


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ssupreet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-14-2009

Re: App not working in BES.

hi,

 

thnx for the reply.

 

the issue I am getting is that the call to the webservice is not going thru from the application when connected to BES.

the same thing works over wifi and BIS.

 

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
oros
Posts: 1,453
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Carrier: Bell

Re: App not working in BES.

Do you have access to the BES? Specifically the MDAT logs to verify whether the request is actually hitting the MDS?

 

Also, does the connection attempt throw any errors? Does it timeout, etc.

 

I'm guessing the call to the webservice is a simple Ajax request? (i.e. XMLHttpRequest) HTTP or HTTPS and is it on a non-standard port? (i.e. not port 80?)

 

Wish I had a recommendation, but at this point there will likely be more questions than answers until we can get a good overall picture :-)

 

The fact that it works on WiFi and BIS would indicate some sort of environment setup. Perhaps there is a corporate firewall preventing access into the network, etc. It's hard to say just yet.


Erik Oros | @WaterlooErik | eoros@blackberry.com | Developer Issue Tracker

If a reply has answered your question, please click Accept as Solution to help other visitors in the future.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ssupreet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-14-2009

Re: App not working in BES.

thxn again.

 

i don't hav access to BES logs , will try to get tht and try ..

 

will update once i have the logs .

 

thnx again

Please use plain text.