If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Contributor
bbbatman
My Device: BB 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Airtel

Appending child nodes to GridList via js.

Hi, 

I am new to HTML5 and Blackberry Webworks so this might seem trivial. But after trying various permutations for almost a whole day, I am not able to see why this is not working. 

I am trying to create a gridlist and append rows and items into it via a javascript file. 

But somehow it doesn't render correctly. 

First let me show the hard-coded HTML that works. 

<div id="demoDynContent" data-bb-type="group" data-bb-back-caption="Dyn2">
<div data-bb-type="row">
<div data-bb-type="item" data-bb-img="images/grid/square/1.png" data-bb-title="Programatically">DEMO</div>
<div data-bb-type="item" data-bb-img="images/grid/square/1.png" data-bb-title="Programatically">DEMO2</div>
</div>
</div>

This works fine and I am able to see a row with 2 items in it. I am also able to create multiple rows by adding code similar to the above code for each new row. 

Now I am trying to create the same thing via java script. 

Here is the HTML

<div id="gridDynContent" data-bb-type="group" data-bb-back-caption="Dyn"></div>

and here is the java script which creates 3 rows with each row containing 3 items.

pub.populateGrid = function () {
		var i;
		var j;
		var listDivElement = document.getElementById('gridDynContent');
		var items = [];
		var item;
		debugger;
		for (i = 0 ; i < 3; i++){
			item = pub.createRow();
			items.push(item);
			listDivElement.appendChild(item);
		}
};

pub.createRow = function() {
		var row = document.createElement('div');
		row.setAttribute('data-bb-type', 'row');
		var items = [];
		var item;