Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Developer
bnolan001
My Device: Bold 9930 and PlayBook
Accepted Solution

BB10 popScreen resets form data

I'm using bbui.js and testing in Ripple 0.9.10 I'm new to bbui.js so I'm learning as I go.

Here is my issue.  I have an application that uses multiple screens.  From the main screen I push a screen on top that lets the user put in some data.  If the user needs more information they can navigate to another screen that is pushed on top.  We now have the main screen, a second screen for input, and a third screen.  From that third screen the user gets what they need, pops the screen and completes their input on the second screen.  Problem is, when the third screen is popped, any input the user put in the second screen prior to navigating to the third screen is gone.  Now I don't know if this is expected behavior or a bug.  If it is expected behavior is there a typical pattern people use to keep the user input on a screen when the user navigates to other screens?

"Not to know what happened before you were born is to be forever a child." Marcus Tullius Cicero
Developer
The_Anomaly
My Device: Dev Alpha / Playbook / Curve 9300

Re: BB10 popScreen resets form data

I think its expected behaviour.  popScreen actually removes the screen from the DOM, making the app lighter on memory.  pushscreen does the opposite - it inserts the screen when called.  Its a good way to work and a plus for BB development.

That being said, you can create a var in your main index.html that you could populate on your third screen.