Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Developer
DueNorth
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Rogers

BBM with Unicode characters

[ Edited ]

I was trying to invoke BBM through:

 

blackberry.invoke.invoke({
			target: 'sys.bbm.sharehandler',
			action: 'bb.action.SHARE',
			data: BBMText,
			mimeType: 'text/plain'
});

 

However this doesn't seem to work with unicode characters. Is that normal? Does BBM work with Unicode? Is there a character limit for the data being passed in?

 

Also since I don't know anyone with BBM, how can I test this out? It seems like it will work...

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,362
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

Unicode characters are supported.

 

You can test this out using the BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator.  The latest version includes a BBM Server Simulator, so you can simulate the use of BBM across two instances of simulator.

 

Look at the README.txt file located in .\install_dir\C:\Program Files (x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Dev Alpha Simulator 10.0.9\BlackBerry10Simulator-BB10_0_09-1673\bbm for instructions.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
DueNorth
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

Hi Mark,

 

Thank you for the information and for pointing me to the right direction. I believe I got everything setup to test through the simulator, however I am getting an error "Associating BBM with your BlackBerry ID". It just goes on forever with nothing happenning.

 

I created a new BlackBerry ID and signed in through settings. The BBM server is running and connected through the Controller. However right now I just get the spinning process icon with "Associating BBM with your BlackBerry ID".  One thing I noticed though, the simulator is having a hard time getting the time (though date is correct). I tried auto set but it didn't work so I tried manual... no difference.

 

This problem didn't happen with the Dev Alpha (though I didn't need to run a BBM server).

 

Any clue how I can solve this issue?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,362
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

[ Edited ]

What happens when you try to manually set the time?  Do you see any activity on the BBM Server Simulator side?

 

Make sure there isn't any local firewall/vpn software blocking the connection.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
DueNorth
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

[ Edited ]

Manually setting the time there is no change. I turned off the Windows Firewall (just for now).

 

The only activity besides the initialization is:

 

Layer = EP2P, Event = Notification, Devicepin = <Device Pin>, Coverage = ON

(when setting up the Controller)

 

Then later on, (about 30 sec to a minute in)

Layer = RCP, RCP Connection from: <Device Pin>

Layer = RCP. RCP authenticated <Device Pin>

Layer = EP2P, Event = Notification, Devicepin = <Device Pin>, Coverage = ON

 

On the simulator it just shows the spinning progress icon and "Associated BBM with your BlackBerry ID".

 

 

Update: IF I wait a while (30 minutes) and then go back and switch tasks. It would then give a "Temporary Server Error"... which isn't temporary because it just won't start up again. There are some DEBUG code going through the server. The only thing which looks like an error is:

 

LAYER = BBM, decryptWithSessionKey - Illegal key size

 

I am using Sun Java 6 JDK instead of 7 (the version reocmmended on the README.TXT). I have copied the JCE 6 policy files to the security directory.

 

Any other ideas on what I can try? Thanks.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
krum
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Globul

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

Look at your Windows locale settings - It must be set to English(US). Change it, restart your PC and try again. This solved the same problem for me.

Please use plain text.
Developer
DueNorth
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

Thank you for your suggestion Krum, but my region has always been English (USA). Yeah, even here in Canada. :-)

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,362
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: BBM with Unicode characters

Can you try using the new BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha simulator that was just release today?  It contains a number of BBM simulator fixes.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.