Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
cherryaa
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Beginner questions!

[ Edited ]

Hello :smileyhappy:

I've just bought a BlackBerry Pearl 8120.

I got it because I'm a Web developer, and realised that my sites are rendering quite poorly on smart phones like the BlackBerry and iPhone. I'm finding it next to impossible to work out how to fix this!!

My first question, then, is: Where can I find a primer on the newest mobile OSs, and how to code for their browsers?

I have some other pressing queries, too:

• Is it possible to code a site for, say, my BB Pearl, and find it will then render well on other smartphones? (I mean, is there a generic protocol that will work)
  • Does the BlackBerry have a problem with jQuery? Mine isn't running, but I thought it did work with mobile devices?
  • HOW did you do that excellent sideways-slide transition in Facebook for BB? I want that!!
  • ... Not unrelated: I can't get the viewport values returned from my Pearl. What's wrong?

My little test page is here: http://internetfocusuk.com/test.php

All criticisms, advice and pointers will be slavishly followed ...

Thanks!

Cherry.

Please use plain text.
Developer
davidmccormack
My Device: Galaxy S II
My Carrier: Meteor (Ireland)

Re: Beginner questions!

I'm not sufficiently experienced in web dev to answer your question about how to create pages that will render well on most of the popular mobile platforms. But I imagine that if you stick to HTML 4.01 'strict' and be cognisant of the tiny screens and very high dpi when choosing font sizes, this will get you a lot of the way. Using something like jQuery will also help as it smooths over differences between different browsers.