Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Developer
Ninetails
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Eclipse blackberry menu item not showing up

Hi,

 

I downloaded the BlackBerry Web Development Plug-in for Eclipse 1.0 (including Eclipse IDE) from the BB development site.  This includes the BB plugins as well as eclipse 3.4.1.   After installing it, I noticed that there is no BlackBerry menu item in the top toolbar in Eclipse  (which is suppose to be between the Run and Window menu item).

 

 

Please help.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: Eclipse blackberry menu item not showing up

You should see a BlackBerry Web option under "Run As" and "Debug As" within Eclipse when using the BlackBerry Web Development Plug-in for Eclipse.

 

The BlackBerry JDE Plug-in for Eclipse adds a BlackBerry menu to the Eclipse menu.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Jorgesys12
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Eclipse blackberry menu item not showing up


Hi Ninetail, since you installed BlackBerry Web Development Plug-in for Eclipse 1.0 (including Eclipse IDE)

you must have missing this software

BlackBerry JDE Plug-in for Eclipse
and
BlackBerry Component Pack 4.5.0

check in Help -> Software Updates -> Installed Software

so like MSohm said, install

BlackBerry JDE Plug-in for Eclipse

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/javaappdev/javaeclipseplug.jsp


to add Blackberry Option in your menu!
New Developer
dharmeshrana
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Eclipse blackberry menu item not showing up

I am also facing the same problem of menu items not showing up. The Blackberry Developer video showing how to create widget using eclipse plug-in shows some menus which are not available to me. I have tried many times and not able to figure out what is wrong here.I have upgraded my Java installation to JDK 1.8 Upgrade 19.

 

I am facing some problem when downloading JDE Component Pack 4.5, so have installed JDE Component Pack 4.6 with the consideration that it is newer than 4.5.

 

I installed VS 2008 Prefessional + SP1 and installed Blackberry plug-in VS 2008 and that is also not working. Do I need to do full installation of VS 2008 (I selected the default option when installing the VS 2008)

 

I am really stuck here and not able to figure out how to proceed further.

 

Can you please help me? I can see lots of people being able to developer widget and do web development but I am hitting blocker at the 1st step only.

 

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks

Dharmesh

 

Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Eclipse blackberry menu item not showing up

Hi dharmeshrana,

 

Did you download the version 2.0 beta of the BlackBerry Web Plug-in or the older RTM versions?  Only the Beta 2.0 tools have BlackBerry Widget support.

 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/devbetasoftware/eclipseplugin.jsp

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Developer
dharmeshrana
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Eclipse blackberry menu item not showing up

Thanks Tim,

 

I had downloaded the older RTM version. After downloading the 2.0 beta, I am able to create BlackBerry Widgets.

 

Thanks once again

Dharmesh