Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

donoskaro
My Carrier: Virgin

Failure 881: Application Author does not match debug token author

Hey Guys, I am a newbie at developing software and don't know anything about other languages except from HTML and CSS so I decided to try to program apps to see how it works and if it's the right think for me. I have received my "keys" for the playbook and generated and upload the Debug Token. My first idea was to put the Hello World application (which I copied from the BB website) on to my playbook to see if everything is working but everytime I try to upload the application I get "Failure 881 application author does not match debug token author"

I have tried some troubleshooting myself (Making another Debug Token, Adding the <author> and <authorId> to the config.xml and making a blackbery-tablet.xml with those fields in) and still nothing. Do you guys know what's going on and what I should do to resolve this problem so I can upload my apps to my playbook?

Thanks,

Oskar

Please use plain text.
donoskaro
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Failure 881: Application Author does not match debug token author

Does anyone know how to solve this? I really want to use the apps :smileysad:

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
nikmaster
My Carrier: MTS

I had similar issue. Check that  in blackbery-tablet.xml <author> and  <authorId> fields are correct.

To get the right values for those fields just rename your packed .bar file to .zip, then unarchieve it. There will be manifest.mf file in META-INF folder. Open it with notepad. Grab <author> and  <authorId> values from there and rebuild your app.

If that does not help, then rebuild debug token and make sure you install it on the device. Debug token needs to have correct device pin.