Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
docaholic
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha, Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Fido

Geolocation always times out

Hey guys, 

 

I'm using Bing Maps as part of my sample app, and  I keep running into an error.

 

Specifically, my GPS location always times out (it works in ripple, and works on the emulator, but not my device). 

 

Is there a fix for this? I'm using the latest webworks (1.0.3.8) and I've updated my dev alpha to 10.0.9.1103. 

 

I've connected my wifi and everything, as well as enabled location services on the phone itself. Is there a reason why the geolocation is defaulting to timeout?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mserina
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
My Device: BB 10 Dev Apha
My Carrier: -

Re: Geolocation always times out

I have the same issue, no errors, no exceptions.."navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition" simply gets stuck and the application reaches an idle status..

this occurred today morning after recent updates to latest platform..

please advice!!

thanks a lot

Please use plain text.
Contributor
docaholic
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha, Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Geolocation always times out

Yeah it's weird...I've been working on my app so far, and I actually submitted it for review in Blackberry World, but now all of sudden, it doesn't work anymore (it worked previously, and my code hasn't changed since updating the OS).
Please use plain text.
Contributor
docaholic
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha, Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Geolocation always times out

okay, i've gone ahead and went to some other websites on my dev alpha device to see if the browser itself is broken, and it seems that way...

I tried several websites and they've all either just stood idly by, or given me an error.

I'm assuming (currently) that the new OS update broke the HTML5 Geolocation api somehow
Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: Geolocation always times out

After reading this I tried my (worked recently) app out

 

I use Google Maps in this iteration and got various whitelisting issues

 

At one point I stood in the garden in the rain and managed to get as far as some wierd G URL that seemed to be a map-load URL with a funny subdomain (wish I'd written it down)

 

Tried whitelisting * after that (even worse)

 

I never even get a callback

 

Set it back to whitelisting googleapis and gstatic then got no further

 

Having said that the weather is abysmal at the moment but tomorrow its meant to be sunny so I'll try again then

 

I got a version on the PB but my feet are wet already so I'll play in the morning

 




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: Geolocation always times out

I've checked with BB

 

They are aware of the GPS issue (i,e, we're not doing anything wrong)

 

I am assured that everything will be fine for the gold release

 

This means we should be able to develop as if things work properly knowing it'll all work in the upcoming release

 

Not the best answer we could have hoped for but it at least clarifies the situation




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Gerii
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-30-2012
My Device: PlayBook, DevAlpha
My Carrier: 3AT

Re: Geolocation always times out

[ Edited ]

Geolocation works fine in my app. Just yesterday I tried it out while going home. It did take a long time though as I haven't got a SIM card inserted. I'm using Cordova in my app amd I kept the screen on all the time.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mserina
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
My Device: BB 10 Dev Apha
My Carrier: -

Re: Geolocation always times out

Hi guys,

did you manage to get the geolocalization working?I just updated everything to the Gold Release and nothing happened..getCurrentPosition still never returns a callback..

Don't know what to do..

thanks a lot

-marco

Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: Geolocation always times out

Updated to Gold and 1675 Dev Alpha

 

Still no callback




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
docaholic
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha, Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Geolocation always times out

Yeah, it's still busted for me.

 

Still get an ERROR message (timeout error) when I try to do anything with geolocation.

Please use plain text.