Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
Contributor
DigitalMaestro
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Playbook 16GB, Z10 LE
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

I just updated my Dev Alpha and SDK to the Gold release and am now having several issues with my Sencha based app.

1) Icons are displayed as white squares

2) Display is mangled on some forms

 

Are these known issues (has anyone else noticed this behviour)?

Will there be an update to Sencha and/or the Gold release to correct the issues?

Should I be addressing this here or on the Sencha forums?

 

Cheers

DM

------------
"The shortest answer is doing." - Jacula Prudentum
My app: Cashalyst
Please use plain text.
Developer
interfaSys
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

Yes, apparently an old friend made a comeback. It must be the 3rd or 4th time this bug passes through RIM's QA.

Check if the tracker has the bug listed and if not add it there so that RIM fixes it ASAP and releases a new OS update before the end of the year.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Please use plain text.
Developer
interfaSys
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

Are you using the Dev alpha A or B?

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
DigitalMaestro
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Playbook 16GB, Z10 LE
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

I'm using Dev Alpha A.  I hope someone from RIM weighs in on this.  I logged an issue in Jiva as well.  I need to know when/if RIM plans to fix this and if there are any workarounds.  I'd really like to get my app wrapped up before the holidays.

 

DM

------------
"The shortest answer is doing." - Jacula Prudentum
My app: Cashalyst
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kozen
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9790
My Carrier: PCCW

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

Passing RIM QA is a diplomatic description ... I am not sure how much QA took place for the "gold" SDKs :smileysad:

 

I truly hope this gets fixed soon; as well as the issues in the Cascades NDK.

Please use plain text.
Developer
interfaSys
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

AFAIK, it's more of an issue with the OS itself. Apparently hardware acceleration has been turned on and it shows on the Dev Alpha A which used to be sluggish, but either the graphics drivers are **bleep** and they don't care because the final hardware has a different chip or RIM's webkit implementation has some serious issues with hardware accelerated content. Since we're many releases behind compared to what RIM is using internally, someone should be able to tell us if that has been fixed already.

 

@DigitalMaestro - Thanks for having filled a report :smileyhappy:

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
DigitalMaestro
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Playbook 16GB, Z10 LE
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

Can anyone from RIM please comment on a resolution plan for this issue?  I've filed an issue in Jira but have seen no real updates there.  Unless I'm doing something wrong then the majority (if not all) Sencha 2.1 developers on Blackberry 10 are basically at an impasse here.  

 

A comment from someone in the know would be greatly appreciated!

 

DM

------------
"The shortest answer is doing." - Jacula Prudentum
My app: Cashalyst
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
andreyavram
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-02-2012
My Device: Playbook, BB10
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

I think not only Sencha it's broken, take a look at the pictures from this thread. Do they look like the squares you are seeing? Also are you able to use the web inspector?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
DigitalMaestro
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Playbook 16GB, Z10 LE
My Carrier: Bell Canada

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

Yes I looked at teh thread you posted.  I am noticing some of the same issues as listed there as well. 

 

I can use web inspector to set source code breakpoints,etc but I have not been using it to inpsect the DOM (don't really need to since Sencha controls most of the DOM manipulation).

 

DM

------------
"The shortest answer is doing." - Jacula Prudentum
My app: Cashalyst
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kozen
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9790
My Carrier: PCCW

Re: Gold SDK breaks Sencha 2.1

The last OS update broke a lot of things; unfortunately.

I hope they get a real gold SDK soon rather than a gold-plated one like this one looks like ... :smileysad:
Please use plain text.