Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
New Developer
toj
My Device: Not Specified

How can I compile a standalone web app that can be downloaded and is OS v4.6.x compliant

I am new to blackberry development and I am having trouble getting started. I want to develop a standalone web application that gets downloaded and installed on the Blackberry device and it needs to be OS v4.6.x compliant. I am a .net developer, so I will be using the Visual Studio plug-in.

I downloaded the VS plug-in 1.2 and created a Hello World App which I can view in the blackberry browser using the blackberry simulators 8330/9000/9700/9500. However, I would like to know how I can compile the application into a java program that can be loaded onto the simulator as I can’t use Widgets because they are compatible with OS 5.0 or higher.

I have also downloaded and installed version 2.0 beta 1 on a separate machine and played around with a simple Hello World Widgets which works on the BB 9500 simulator. However, on the 9700 simulator I get the error message “verification error 190 offset 029d” Does anyone know why?

Lastly, can anyone point me to where I can find some tutorials and resources to get started?

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
tneil
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: How can I compile a standalone web app that can be downloaded and is OS v4.6.x compliant

Hi There,

The 9700 simulator is giving that error because it was a very early beta version of the 5.0 environment.  A newer version of the 9700 simulator will be posted shortly.

Some great resources for web development are in the video section:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/resources/videolibrary.jsp#tab_tab_browser