Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
escay
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile
Accepted Solution

Howto debug Webworks on VMWare Dev Alpha Simulator?

Hi,

 

I am developing a Webworks application. I can not use Ripple simulator because it does not implement 'cards' nicely and does not implement the pim.contacts API.

I have no Dev Alpha device, so I'm using the VMWare simulator of the Q10.

 

My question is:

- can I somehow debug the webworks application? 

- can I at least see the console.log output somewhere? How?

-- Is this supported for BB10?: http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Web-and-WebWorks-Development/How-to-debug-BlackBerry-web-appl...

- can I edit my javascript and HTML without repackaging in Ripple or commandline. I'm now changing code, repackaging, hoping for the best. This is not productive and feels like the ice age.

 

Thank you

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
erikjohnzon
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎09-21-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Virgin

Re: Howto debug Webworks on VMWare Dev Alpha Simulator?

Hi escay,

 

 

1. "can I somehow debug the webworks application?" Yes, package it with the -d option. Your simulator will have an IP address in the bottom corner. You should be able to connect to Web Inspector via <ip-address>:1337 and see your pages.

 

2. "Can I at least see the console.log output somewhere? How?" Yes, you can see it at the console in Web Inspector :smileyhappy:. After following the steps above.

 

3. Yes, you can use web inspector. Your device will have to be in debug mode, and your application packaged with -d.

 

4. Yes you can. Point your config.xml at your local webserver. This will pull the app contents from the server and allow you to update them on the fly. All you have to do is hit refresh :smileyhappy:.

 

Hope this information helps.

 

@erikjohnzon
erjohnson@blackberry.com
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
escay
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Howto debug Webworks on VMWare Dev Alpha Simulator?

Thank you! Searching again for it I see:

 

https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/web_inspector_overview_1553586_11.html

which also describes BB10 settings.

 

- 1) Is there any documentation about the config.xml trick? I cannot find it on the webworks site.

- 2) You mean something like

 <content src="http://10.0.0.100:8080/testapp/index.html" rim:allowInvokeParams="true"/>

- 3) Probably cannot use localhost or 127.0.0.1.

- 4) Does it require a <access subdomains="" uri=""/> rule?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
escay
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Howto debug Webworks on VMWare Dev Alpha Simulator?

Thanks to Ken Wallis, this post contains the most information available:

 

http://devblog.blackberry.com/2009/12/update-your-blackberry-widget-without-recompiling/

 

In short you should be able to use:

 

<content src="http://10.0.0.100:8080/testapp/index.html" rim:allowInvokeParams="true"/>

 

but must also add something like

 

<access subdomains="true" uri="http://10.0.0.100"></access>

 

for BB10. I will try it.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
escay
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Howto debug Webworks on VMWare Dev Alpha Simulator?

For those interested I have web inspector and debugging working with WebWorks and the Q10 VMWare simulator.

Read the required steps here: http://www.escay.nl/documents/doku.php?id=blackberry10webworks

Please use plain text.