Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
nytrex
My Device: PlayBook (novice developer)
My Carrier: Virgin

IDE and framework for Playbook - suggestions?

I'm new to the BlackBerry and App development scene, but have plenty of experience writing stuff using Visual Basic for Applications.

I've downloaded Webworks and PhoneGap and am looking for a good free IDE and framework that will put me in a good position to learn and develop applications without having to go down to the CLI all the time.

Is Eclipse and good IDE for Playbook development or are there other solutions that I should investigate? Or should I just use Eclipse to build and package, and use something like Notepad++ to develop code with?

I've read loads of articles, blogs and forums, but a lot of the information seems quite old and I'm not sure if they are still relevant. e.g. people still talk about AIR as if its a forward looking platform to develop on.

Can any of you provide me with some pointers on IDE, frameworks and any other advice you think I might need.

I'm not looking to make money with app development - i just want to create stuff that I think others will find useful.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Alan

Please use plain text.
Developer
interfaSys
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: IDE and framework for Playbook - suggestions?

Hello Alan,

For AIR, you would need Adobe's tools or FDT and they are not cheap, but will let you write cross-platform apps/games. Games usually run fine, but I've never been impressed by AIR apps. They always felt sluggish to me, even on the desktop.