Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Developer
burakk
My Device: BlackBerry 9700 Bold
My Carrier: Turkcell

Internet radio application (Streaming audio) using WebWorks/HTML5

Hello,

I am going to make a WebWorks/HTML5 version of a native Java Internet radio application. I am new to WebWorks development, done research a few days on WebWorks, HTML5, PhoneGap, jQuery Mobile, etc. and here are my questions:

- An Internet radio player (streaming audio) application can be made using HTML5 Audio element for devices running OS 6 and later. For devices running OS 5, an Audip Player API is introduced. However, API reference states: "The audio player is intended to play audio files only which does not include streaming audio." How can I implement a player for OS 5 devices? Do I have to use a plug-in to use native code?

- The API reference states that streaming audio is not supported, however the Audio Player API has properties like EVENT_ERROR with error codes like: 

1. Need more data: playback cannot proceed until the streaming source provides more data.
  2. No server response: a server has stopped responding.
  3. Connetion lost: the current connection has been dropped.
  4. DNS resolve error: an invalid URL has been detected.
  5. Unseekable: the media player needs to seek in the file in order to access headers, but can't since the file being played is unseekable.
  6. Connection timeout: the (streaming) server is unreachable.
  7. General client error: The streaming server rejected the streaming request. RTSP error 4xx not covered by another error code has occurred.
  8. Server error: An error occured on the streaming server while streaming. RTSP error 5xx has occurred.