Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
f_dragos
My Device: Bold 9780 & PlayBook

Issues on keyboard pop-up

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I am working on a WebWorks app (&still learning) for the PlayBook, which contains text input elements. These are not form inputs, but html5 content-editable elements.

Also, I have set the following code in the app's <head>, to disable users from being able to pinch to zoom within the app:

<meta name="viewport" id="viewport" content="width=device-width,height=device-height,initial-scale=1.0,user-scalable=no" />

Here's the problem. Whenever I tap on a user input field and the keyboard automatically pops up,  I get the following issues:

1. Some <div> elements are slightly moved up the screen and slightly resized. I believe this might be my fault, as I am still learning as I previously mentioned. However, if anyone knows how to fix this I would really appreciate it. I've made those bugged <div> elements contain the "position" css property set to "fixed", but with no result.

2. Even though I've used that line of code in the header to prevent the app's outer scrolling/zooming, as long as the keyboard is up, that line of code no longer seems to work. This wouldn't necessarily be a problem. However, in this case, after editing a text input field the user is supposed to click on certain <div> elements (custom buttons), and if he accidentally performs a very slight pan instead of a tap gesture on those buttons, the entire app screen moves, as it becomes temporarily draggable.