Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
NewtownGuy
My Device: Not Specified

Re: JavaScript runs once but won't continually update

Hi Abarber,

This is very helpful. Thank you !

Will this work with images that are dynamically loaded from the Internet ? I need an endless stream of new photographs (actually video frames) to get live video.

I'm a novice JavaScript programmer. Where do the images come from in your code ? Isn't it a 2-second delay in the checkImage and redirectImage ? Do these functions verify that a new image has been downloaded and decoded and is ready to be put on the screen, before starting to fetch the next one from the Internet ?

Will this code work on the 8330 ? (I made a typo when I said an 8830)

Please use plain text.
Developer
abarber

Hello

yes it'll work on the 8330.

The images are loaded from the web, the first 8 images are requested after that they will be cached. But If I created more images it could go on forever just requesting with no caching.

The code waits for an image to load, then holds that image for 2 secs, then calls the next image.

Andrew

Please use plain text.
New Developer
NewtownGuy

Hi Andrew,

I tested it on the 8330, and it does run. But there are several problems for what I need to do:

1) the screen is white and there's a little icon on the screen while it's loading each image

2) it fetches 8 images and then repeats them

In my live video application, the frames never repeat because each image is new, so I need to download new images constantly, and I need to keep the previous image on the screen while the next one is being downloaded and prepared (decoding JPEG) for display.