Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Contributor
edkirk30
My Device: Playbook (soon - hopefully)
My Carrier: o2

Re: Local .swf flash inside BlackBerry PlayBook app

I'm trying to use the JS sound library SoundManager2 which uses flash (or html audio) for the actual audio playback. JS I know, but I'm not a flash programmer I'm afraid. Unfortunetly I don't have an actual PB at the moment and the simulator doesn't seem to like the flash audio at all so I cannot test this aspect, nor get any console output from the simulator.

The SoundManager2 library uses a single swf file and it adds the html element itselfs when the page loads. The injected div looks as such:

<div id="sm2-container" class="movieContainer " style="z-index: 10000; position: absolute; width: 6px; height: 6px; top: -9999px; left: -9999px; ">

<embed name="sm2movie" id="sm2movie" src="./swf/soundmanager2_flash9.swf" quality="high" allowscriptaccess="always" bgcolor="#ffffff" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" title="JS/Flash audio component (SoundManager 2)" type="application/x-	shockwave-flash" haspriority="true">

</div>

The behaviour described to me when my App was rejected is the behaviour I observe when the app is run locally on a desktop browser *without* the directory it is run from being added as an local exception for flash's local execution security policy. SoundManager will output debug messages to the console, including a warning about security problems when flash, but as I said I can't test this on the simulator at present.

Could it be the use of <embed> instead of <object>? I can provide a very simple SoundManager example unpackaged/packaged if anyone would be kind enough to run it on an actual device? It's a really simple library to use.

Please use plain text.