Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Developer
Blackbow
My Device: Curve 9320 / 64GB PlayBook
My Carrier: O2 - UK

LocalStorage or Sqlite? A little help, please...

I am a BlackBerry development newbie, but have some HTML5/CSS/Javascript experience.

I am in the process of designing and building a "virtual tabletop" PlayBook app. One major feature I plan to incorporate into my application is the ability to create locally-stored, editable Character Records. It's pretty obvious that I'll need to store the data locally somehow, but I can't work out the best method to use.

I am aware that there are a number of different data storage / retrieval methods - I just can't work out the advantages of any one over another. Can anyone point me in the right direction, please?

As an aside, I currently have NO access to a Windows PC (or a Mac, for that matter!). I'm hard-coding the pages in a Text Editor on my BlackBerry Curve, uploading the pages to the Web and viewing the results on my PlayBook's Browser - things like plugins for Eclipse or WebWorks are a no-go, I'm afraid...

Thanks in advance for your help,

Blackbow

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
twindsor
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: LocalStorage or Sqlite? A little help, please...

Localstorage is easiest to use, you would have your characters in JSON objects and just stringify them before storing in the variables. However, I'm guessing that with the type of application you are doing, it would lend itself very well to tabular data - all the characters have the same attributes and you may want to run SQL operations on multiple characters at a time. You will likely find limitations of the localstorage approach fairly soon as you progress in your development.