Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

New Contributor
bwalker2006
My Carrier: AT&T

MDS Services

I have a question around MDS services.  I watched some support videos and was not clear on if  it is absolutely necessary to have MDS services running on a server to fulfill request from the blackberry browser or HTTP request from a custom Java app  My issue is that want to create a mobile solution via the blackberry, but I am pretty sure my hosting company is not running MDS services on their boxes.  comments please.  I am just getting started on the development so my knowledge is limited at the moment.  Anyway can I just use soap/webserivces?

Thanks

B.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jwargo

Re: MDS Services

What MDS does is provide a BlackBerry application (whether it be a Java application, the browser or something else) is a secure connection into the corpoorate firewall for access to the data. The BlackBerry uses the connection to gain access to servers sitting inside the corporate firewall.

That's it. So, if your users are running your application and it needs to access corporate data, you'll either have to turn on MDS or open firewall ports so the application can access the server without using MDS.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
tneil
My Carrier: Rogers

BlackBerry device connections basically boil down to two options:

1) BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Server activation in a corporation for Exchange/Domino access)

2) BIS (BlackBerry Internet Service activation.  Go out and buy your device from a carrier for personal usage)

Rule of Thumb: