Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Web and WebWorks Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Vodafone

Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

Hi,

 

i'm having trouble setting up the focus based navigation mode on blackberry widgets. My config.xml looks like this

 

<widget xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets"
        xmlns:rim="http://www.blackberry.com/ns/widgets"
        version="2.0"
        rim:header="RIM-Widget:rim/widget"
        rim:navigationMode="true">
    <name>MyName</name>
    <description>MyDesc</description>
    <icon src="icon.png" />

    <rim:navigation mode="focus" />
    <rim:loadingScreen backgroundColor="#A00019" />
    <rim:connection timeout="30000" />

    <access uri="http://google.com" subdomains="true" />
    <access uri="http://me.com" subdomains="true" />
    <access uri="http://me2.com" subdomains="true" />
    
    <author href="http://me.com/company" email="info@me.com" />
</widget>

 

Still, on a Blackberry 9000 Bold with updated Firmware to 5.0.0.592 the widget is navigated through cursor pointing. Any ideas? Has sb the same problems?

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

I noticed that you have navigation declared both in the <widget> element and the <rim:navigation> element.  I can't say for sure it is the issue, but try removing the declaration in the <widget> element.

 

 

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

i also tried with

<widget xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets"
        xmlns:rim="http://www.blackberry.com/ns/widgets"
        version="2.0"
        rim:header="RIM-Widget:rim/widget"
        >

 

and the rim:navigation element but without success;

 

I recently upgraded my bold 9000 to OS 5 - may this be a source of problems?

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

I\'ll ask our developers to take a look at it
Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Retired
Posts: 1,382
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

Hi there,

 

I believe you need to upgrade to the latest version of the BlackBerry Web Plug-in.  The structure of the configuration document slightly changed during the BETA of the Widget SDK, and the navigation mode element moved from being an attribute of the the document element to it's own element.

 

Here's an example of what this should look like:

 

 

 

<widget xmlns:rim="http://www.blackberry.com/ns/widgets" 
version="1.0.0"
rim:header="RIM-Widget:rim/widget"
xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets">

<name>My Widget</name>
<description> Hello World </description>
...
<rim:navigation mode="focus" />
...
<feature id="blackberry.system" />
</widget>

 

Sorry for any confusion,.  This change was made because it was more appropriate to have the navigation mode element as a child within the config.xml document (to mirror other BlackBerry-specific elements like "loadingScreen" and "transitionEffect").

 

 

Best wishes,

Adam

Follow me on Twitter: @n_adam_stanley
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your app doesn't work? Use BlackBerry remote web inspector to find out why.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

[ Edited ]

Sorry if i wans't clear enough above. I already have this element in my document. It looks like this:

 

<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?>
<widget xmlns="http://www.w3.org/ns/widgets"
        xmlns:rim="http://www.blackberry.com/ns/widgets"
        version="2.0"
        rim:header="RIM-Widget:rim/widget"
        >
    <name>Name</name>
    <description>Description</description>
    <icon src="icon.png" />

    <rim:navigation mode="focus" />
    <rim:loadingScreen backgroundColor="#A00019" />
    <rim:connection timeout="30000" />

    <access uri="http://domain1.com" subdomains="true" />
    <access uri="http://domain2.com" subdomains="true" />
    <access uri="http://domain3.com" subdomains="true" />
    
    <author href="http://domain1.com/company" email="info@domain1.com" />
</widget>

Retired
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

Do you have the Widget SDK Beta or the latest RTM version of the SDK?
Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-19-2011
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Trikomsel

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

[ Edited ]

Humm I thing i have an same problem here hehehehe...

 

i wanna ask about the navigation mode... iam using the old one curve 8900 when i using the webworks aplication to open a link via button or a form it frezze up but not every page... its only a pahe with the index stetment like ng.php?id=9 or sumtin

 

..

 

the blank white page has show up....

 

but when i try to open up the url via phone browser everyting is ok....

 

 

the aplication can be downloded here http://ellenyofita.phpnet.us/libs/Salatigav9ba.jad

 

and the idex url in http://ellenyofita.phpnet.us

 

sory for my bad english hehehe

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-19-2011
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Trikomsel

Re: Navigation mode focus not enabled? not possible on Bold 9000 with OS 5

[ Edited ]

Ststus:
The navigation mode is focus and is enabled
when i kliking some link it appears a white page then freeze up
when i try to open ap the link via bb browser everything sames fine

 

yesterday the aplication is stuck again so i try to leave my phone on the tabel then an dialog box apear and the application was closed

 

the dialog box say

 

_________________

uncaught exception:

aplication Salatigav9ba (249)

is not responding;

process terminated

 

               (   ok  )
____________________

 

Ow ya I have try to download an exsampel ui aplication from http://us.blackberry.com/developers/browserdev/

and the same error acured ..... hmmmm

 

i using web work SDK 2.0.0.18

and the divice is old one 8900

and the standard os v 5.0.0.681

 

but when i try my application on the simulator everyting goes fine... all work out